A great mail day

This morning, bright and early b.c. (before coffee), the mailman rang my doorbell. Two wonderful packages put into my hands.

The first (and most exciting, IMHO), was an exchange from the Needle and Thread bulletin board. This came from Judy in Iowa.

Isn’t that so cool??? Here is a close up of the stitching:

This is so me. The stocking is now hung prominantly in my dining room. Where I can admire it always. And drool. I may just keep it up all year.

The next package was a couple of books I ordered (Merry Christmas to me!):

This one, I think, is a little advanced for my current knitting talents. It has some wonderful patterns and when I get more comfortable in my abilities, I will definately be crossing a few people off my list with these next year.


While the designs in this book are pretty, I am a little dissappointed. I wasn’t expecting giant projects, but they took a lot of famous paintings and only charted parts. Like Mona Lisa’s eyes, for example. Then they made it into an eyeglasses case. Clever, but not really my style. Botticelli’s Venus is in there, though, and although it isn’t the whole painting, it does have the main part; as well as Van Gogh’s Irises. There are a few I will probably stitch, so that does pay for the book.

Thanks for all the comments on the joy tree so far. At the rate I am stitching it, I should easily be able to finish it by the end of the week.

That’s all for today. Ta!

4 thoughts on “A great mail day

  1. Jenna

    Mona Lisa’s eyes?!? Okay, yeah I guess it works as an eyeglasses case, but it’s still odd. πŸ™‚ That stocking is great! I love the curved toe, like an elf’s stocking. Judy did a nice job!

    Reply
  2. Kim

    Nice gifts! Love the stocking. πŸ™‚ The books look interesting. It could fun to stitch some of them, if a bit challenging. πŸ™‚ And your project is looking good, even w/ the “blunder”. I couldn’t even see where the mistake is. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  3. Von

    It’s so fun to get packages in the mail – even when you know what they are πŸ™‚
    Enjoy everything – especially that wonderful stocking!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

