Christmas Memories

I thought since I am on this kick of updating my blog daily that I should continue a good thing. Most of this entry has nothing to do with stitching, so if you just want to listen to memories, feel free to read on. It is a long post, though.

I thought I would finally get around to answering Karen’s Christmas questions. (Thanks, Karen for giving me the other questions – I appreciate it!)

1. What is your favourite Christmas character?
Hmmm…. I would have to say the Grinch. Mostly because that is how I am every year. I get frustrated and stressed before Christmas and sure enough, by Christmas eve, I wonder why I have been so stressed and just feel the joy of the season.
2. What is your fvourite Christmas movie?
It is a toss up between the original cartoon Grinch Who Stole Christmas or It’s A Wonderful Life. Of course, the latter has been ruined (or improved, depending on who you ask) by the Simpson’s which did an episode stating “Your money isn’t in the bank – it’s in Frank’s house, and Bill’s house”. The response to this was, “What is my money doing in your house, you…” followed by much physical lamenting the money was missing….
3. Is there a Christmas book you read every year or are there Christmas themed books you enjoy?
We have a beautiful copy of “The Night Before Christmas” and I read that to the girls every year. I think that is the only real thing that is a tradition in our house.
4. What is the one thing on Christmas day that you can’t live without (basically it wouldn’t be Christmas without it)?
I don’t know. I can’t even say a turkey or cranberry sauce since there have been Christmases with ham or something else instead… I suppose the most true item would be the tree. I don’t remember a Christmas without a tree of some type.
5. What is your favourite Christmas memory?
When I was a teen, things were especially tight for Santa. We had all been prepared for very little under the tree. That was the first year we really tried hard to make home made gifts for everyone (not just a drawing or anything). We came home from Mass to only our own gifts under the tree. We were all disappointed, but we understood. We waited for our hot chocolate & raisin bread to be ready (one of my favourite family traditions), trying to keep our stiff upper lip. After our snack, one of the younger kids finished up and went and played for a few minutes – hiding under the dining room table. The table had a huge table cloth that went almost to the floor. We suddenly heard yelling and ran in to see HUGE boxes (one for each of us) under the table. The boxes were full of wonderful things – I got a beautiful fuschia (hey, it was the early 90’s) cardigan that I only had to get rid of a couple of years ago. It was the start of my sweater fetish. That turned out to be a pretty wonderful Christmas. It really drove home the fact that gifts do not make a good Christmas.
6. What is the most thoughtful gift you have ever been given?
Scott gave me a sewing machine a few years ago. I had hinted life would be great with one, but I never thought (especially since we were wayyyyy broke) that I would ever get one. That brought me to tears.
7. What is the one thing about Christmas you could live without?
The expectation of gifts.
8. Have you created any Christmas traditions with your own family and if so what is it?
As I mentioned before, the only real tradition we have is reading the story on Christmas eve. We have tried other things, but so far not much “fits” with the family. The other thing we do (which I suppose is a little silly, but that is us), is we have Mexican for supper Christmas eve.
9. What is your favourite Christmas song?
O Holy Night. There is so much power in that song. Even though I am no longer a church goer, the song still resonates so much faith.
10. What is the strangest gift you received or gave?
Well, there I hope I haven’t given gifts that are way out there, though I am sure I have. The strangest I ever received (and I don’t remember if it was for my birthday or Christmas) was a tv remote caddy in the shape of two hands up in supplication. Sorry to the giver (who may or may not remember), but that takes the cake!

Thanks to Karen for such great questions. It was a fun walk down memory lane.

I realized I may not be in contact with some of my readers before Christmas (although my blog will be updated most of the holiday since we are staying home this year), so if I miss you, have a wonderful holiday and I hope it is relaxing and joyous. Eat a piece of turkey for me. Don’t forget the cranberries!

2 thoughts on “Christmas Memories

  1. Man van de wereld

    trenton,
    like in, Trenton near Prince Edward Island?
    Visited your town in september, spent the night in Picton..
    cool country you got!
    loved it!

    anyway, pretty needless stuff im writing, so, uuh later!

    Maarten
    Netherlands

    Reply
  2. Man van de wereld

    by the way
    got problems with executing Javascript, so if you want you can pin me on your worldmap in Amsterdam, the Netherlands!
    thats it, wont bother you any longer
    keep up the good work
    Maarten

    Reply

Leave a Reply

