Happy New Year!

Happy 2006, everyone!

We had quite a busy weekend – friends came up to celebrate the count down with us and then my aunt and her family came down from Alberta for a visit. What a wonderful way to ring in the new year – surrounded by friends and family. It was so great to catch up and visit with everyone.

I’m afraid with everyone here, I haven’t picked up a needle in about 3 days. So, no progress to report. I have discovered I don’t have the fabric I thought I did for Woodland Faerie, the SAL that I am doing with Dawn, and was supposed to start last night. This means either 1) a trip to the LNS (oh, darn!!!) or 2) I use a hand dyed for this piece. I have a nice hand dyed that will work, but since this is a project that most of the piece is stitched, it is almost a waste of a lovely texture. The hand dyed in question is a piece by Tirowen Fabrics, called Pixie Glade. It is pretty, and I won’t be framing right to the edge, so you will see the fabric on the outside of the pattern. Thoughts, anyone?

This weekend we also moved the girls rooms around. The girls are now sleeping in the same room, and the spare room is now a play room with which I hope to steal a corner for a craft area. We shall see once I get it all cleaned up. And what a job that is –



I am hoping that once I am through, 2/3 of this room will end up in the garbage and to charity. Fingers crossed!

One last exciting thing that happened this weekend. Kimber went to play at a neighbour’s house and fell on their little skating rink – after 2-1/2 hours at the emergency room (on New Year’s eve!), here is our little hockey player:

She has a bit of a black eye now!

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Von

    Hi Christine! I think it’s an inspired idea to bunk the girls together and giving them a play room! I’m sure they’ll be delighted to share a corner with you 🙂
    Good luck with the dejunking and moving. We’ll be doing a similar project here soon switching bedrooms between me and DH and our 17 yod!

    Reply
  2. Jenna

    Poor Kimber! Going to the ER on New Year’s Eve is tough. Happened to me 5 or so years ago. I was cutting kielbasa with a dull knife and went into my finger. Took hours and hours for them to see me… sheesh! I hope she heals quickly. 🙂

    Reply
  3. tkdchick

    Hi Christine,

    You know what I’d save that lovely hand dyed fabbie and get a plane jane fabbie for Woodland Faerie. TW’s really don’t need specialty fabrics since there’s so much detail.

    Reply
  4. bunnyhead

    Your hockey player is such a cutie! You are so lucky to have even the prospect of a corner in a room for your sewing. I get zip!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

