If it wasn’t for the SBQ…

Good thing there was an SBQ today – or it would be another full day before I blogged again. I know, y’all were missing me, and it is a good thing Renee stepped in before you got withdrawls.

So, on to the Stitching Blogger’s Question:

Have you had a happy dance yet this year? If so, tell us about it! (Or just point to the entry that talks about it.) If not, when do you predict it will be?

It just so happens I do have a happy dance this year. You can read about it here. Yep, you had to go far for that one. I am nearly done my valentines exchange piece, so that will probably be my next finish.

I started my valentines piece on Saturday and it looks fabulous. I absolutely love it. It is a freebie by a french designer and it turns out it was meant to be done over one. Which I caught after Kimber asked me to translate the instructions as I was half way through the project. I am glad I am not doing it over one, though. I really can’t see it work as a small piece.

Sunday we hosted a poker day and had a great turnout. Eight players showed up and a grand time was had by all. I got a bit of stitching in when I was the first player out in the first round, and managed to get about 75% done with the valentines exchange. The second round, though, I remembered how to play poker again and walked away with $40, winning the second round. Woot! Apparently on Monday morning, when I had to go out, the money was burning a hole in my pocket and it told me “Michael’s is having a $1 sale!!!”. So, 45 minutes later, I have my floss re-stocked plus a bunch of other random goodies and no money left. So much for being sensible. To make matters worse, I walked out of there realizing I was late for a guide meeting and had to race home, feed Lauryn and I and race back out. The meeting ran late, so I had race out of there, go get Kimber from school 15 minutes late, then race over to Wal-Mart to get an ink cartridge then race home and do some last minute printings and get supper ready, then race back out to another guide meeting. I ended up Monday night going, “Wha???” I knew I had a full day, but holy cow. So needless to say, I did not stitch Monday, and yesterday I was exhausted and didn’t stitch then, either. Tonight I am working on Lily Maiden, though, so hopefully you will see a photo tomorrow.

Some non-stitching related fantastic news: After getting fed up of WalMart not carrying diapers in Lauryn’s size, we decided that instead of waiting until she seems ready, we would cut her cold turkey from diapers. We got her some new panties and yesterday morning I put her in them. After 2 accidents, she got it. She remained dry for the remainder of the day. Today she is still dry (and it’s 5:30), even through a nap (I forgot to put a diaper on her). She took it a step farther today and told me she had to go (I had been getting her in the washroom once an hour), and went by herself. I am so excited! I can even deal with diapers at night for a while now, if I have too! We have tried this before, but she continued to get accidents. I think since she turned three there have been some big changes for her (she gets dressed herself now and sleeps in a big girl bed), so this may have helped her attitude. I am sorry to gush, but I am tickled pink!

Ok, enough of that for now. I need to make supper and stitch!

7 thoughts on “If it wasn’t for the SBQ…

  1. Dawn

    No need to apologize for gushing! I know how excited a mom can be when they finally get the hang of potty training. It is something to celebrate. 🙂

    Congrats Lauryn!

    Reply
  2. Juanita - aka flosslady

    Congrats on the potty training success. I don’t have any children myself, but I can imagine that it will be a great relief to get your little one out of diapers.

    Reply
  3. KarenV

    Congratulations to you and Lauryn on the potty training 🙂

    And congratulations on winning the poker game – I would’ve bought stash too! 😉

    Reply
  4. bunnyhead

    Hooray for the potty training! It’s so funny, because its just like the kids have an “ah ha!” moment and they just get it and there is no going back. My girls were each past their third birthday before they got it too. I bribed mine with M&Ms. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Lili

    Potty training… I remember that the worst part of it was not washing etc… it was worrying before!
    But I still haven’t found how to have them dry at night, so my DD (she’s 5) still wears nappies at night, and it took my DS until 7 to stop nappies, and 8 and a half before he was dry every night: quite a few accidents in between. I think I’m not a gifted mother, actually…
    I love the fabric you’re using for minuit: it’s stunning: Great choice!
    I also wanted to thank you for visiting my blog a few times, and particularly for your kind encouragements. I’ll be back!
    Enjoy your WE!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

