Tribute update

I was a good girl last night and stuck to my rotation, even though I didn’t want to. I don’t know why I don’t like stitching this piece, but I think it’s because it isn’t going as quickly as I would like it too.

I have a bit more backstitching to do on the left side, then I can finish the blue ribbon on the same side. I imagine that will be the next session’s progress. Then I can move on to the last rose.

Today is my Mira day, so I am looking forward to that.

—xxx—
I got the letter yesterday. The dreaded letter. The letter from Kimber’s school, saying that Lauryn is now old enough to go to school in September. Wah!!!

I was all weepy last night when I read it – my baby will be in school! Yes, it is only kindergarten, and she will only be going every second day, but I will be here all by myself!!! What will I do with myself? Of course, sitting on the couch watching soaps and eating bon bons sounds fantastic, but my rear end might have a few objections!

Going to work is an option (and we could certainly afford for that to happen), but since Lauryn will only be in school every second day, I would still have to pay for daycare on the off days, and that isn’t too appealling, considering the low paying jobs around here. I could pump all my energy into my own business, which, realistically, I should be doing. And I probably will. I just don’t like the idea of my children growing up. Maybe I should have another baby. Gah!

Speaking of my business, I am working my first trade show this weekend. I am nervous – it is one thing going into people’s kitchens and cooking for them – the business is already there. But it is another thing entirely soliciting business and putting myself out like that. Ah well. No pain, no gain.

That’s all for today! Happy blogaversary to me!

16 thoughts on “Tribute update

  1. Von

    The thought of that last child heading off to school does tug at the heartstrings of any mom! Everyone will adjust, as you know. 🙂
    Good luck launching your business!!

    Reply
  2. Litla Skvís

    My first baby started school last fall and it was SO hard for me. Even harder since I was almost 9 months pregnant with my second child.

    I wish they had a “pause button” that would make everything easier. A “rewind button” wouldn’t hurt either. I would love to go back in time and give birth to both of them again :o)

    Reply
  3. Lnanaa

    Maybe you can take classes instead like yoga or something you have been wanting to do but didn’t have the time to do it before.

    My daughter is not in school yet but I’m thinking of joining the YMCA to work out and they have a daycare for her for 2 hours limit. A nice break for me to do something for me.

    School could be a break for you too. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Kim

    Your project looks great, what is it about it that you don’t like?

    Sounds like you have a great business already and I’m sure you will work it all out in your own time. 😀

    Reply
  5. Melissa

    I hope everything goes great for you at the trade show this weekend, Christine! Happy blogaversary to you, and thanks for the birthday hugs in my blog. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Stitchie Kiwi

    Happy Blogaversary!!

    That last child thing has got to be hard … our school has asked us to fill in enrolment forms for any siblings starting this year … that would be my last one … not until November, but sheesh it’s creeping up fast.

    I say spend the free time stitching for a while, and enjoying the peace 😉

    Reply
  7. zoeandcooper

    Happy Blogaversry, Christine! Congratulations on sticking to your rotation this week. Your Tribute piece looks so beautiful.

    Good luck with your youngest going off to school int he fall…i am sure you will find something fun and rewarding to do with your extra free time:)

    Reply
  8. Myrna

    Your roses are looking very nice.

    I cried when my first went to school, and cried when my second did. I think it’s something Mom’s just do. 🙂

    Happy Blogiversary!

    Reply
  9. Carol

    Good girl with sticking to your rotation 🙂

    Aw, I realize it must be so sad to see Lauryn going to school – but it must be so exciting for her!!

    Reply
  10. Lee

    Sister’s Tribute looks fantastic. Your stitching is lovely.

    Just wait – when the baby goes to school, you’ll have a short (very short) period of free time, and then chances are you’ll be busier than ever.

    And high school? Forget about it! Say goodbye to your personal live.

    Hmm. This might make a good blog post topic!

    Reply
  11. Jenna

    First, let me say Happy Blogiversary to you! 😀

    I think Tribute seems to go slowly because it looks like it has a lot of color changes in it. That can really slow you down from what you’re used to. It looks great, though!

    What is your business? I wish you tons of luck with it!

    Reply
  12. Ash

    Oh Christine! I also got the letter from school recently except in September my last baby goes full-time to primary school! He is only 4. When I told my mom about it she started crying when she talked about my brother and I starting school! We can commiserate with each other in September 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

