Hear ye, Hear ye!

I have an announcement to make.

I am dropping my rotation.

Now, relax, take a breath, settle those gasps of horror. I suspect that my more frequent stitching slumps have to do with the fact that when I finally sit down to stitch at night, so little progress is made week to week that I am getting bored changing each project each night.

So, until I can figure out a new rotation that may work, I will stitch one at a time, starting with the project most closely to be finished (that would be Gifts by the Sea). The exception to that is Woodland Faerie, which I will continue to stitch on Monday’s with Dawn. Once I have a few WIPs crossed off, I am thinking of going with a two- or three-day rotation. We’ll see. Hopefully you will get better progress pics this way!

14 thoughts on “Hear ye, Hear ye!

  1. Jenna

    I hear you! I have the same problem – I could never do a daily rotation for the same reason. πŸ™‚ Mine’s more of a screaming rotation. I highly recommend it! ROFL. Or not, since I never seem to get much done. πŸ˜‰ Good luck!

    Reply
  2. AnneS

    I tried a daily rotation too, and it didn’t work out – I felt guilty when I didn’t pick the scheduled piece ‘cos I was just too tired etc … when I tried the 10-hour rotation, I thought it was great – a hassle to count, but it means you get to stitch on one piece for at least 2-3 days or longer, so you can really see some progress, and you don’t get bored … well, that’s the theory anyway LOL. I really need to get back to that rotation again …

    Reply
  3. Emilie

    My rotation is similar to Anne’s. I don’t count though, just stitch for one piece a week at a time. But because I don’t have that much stitching time (especially during the week) it works out to about 10-12 hours per piece. But I just switch every Monday to skip the counting. Hasn’t been long, but so far it’s working out for me. I couldn’t do a daily switch either, just wouldn’t get enough in to see progress.

    Reply
  4. ~Harsha~

    there’s nothing wrong with that… stitching is supposed to relax you.. not stress you πŸ™‚

    looking forward to seeing your progress! *hugs*

    Reply
  5. Kerry

    That sounds wise to me. I was getting so stressed by forcing myself to stitch whatever came up in the rotation that I stopped enjoying myself.

    I guess I’m now on a screaming rotation – whatever I feel like within a group of WIPs – and that’s working better for me. It’s fun again.

    Reply
  6. Outi

    Oh mi gosh! How you dare? πŸ˜‰

    But to be honest I think that we all do this because it’s fun and therefore no one will judge you (at least in public *rofl*).

    Screaming rotation is good, I’ve to agree. (But sometimes it’s not nice… I hear that needleroll screaming on me Deadline is on Monday!… *sigh*)

    Reply
  7. natty68

    Yay for you Christine..I dont really blame you hon. I am trying to get into a rotation, trouble is I get put off .. lol. I am going to go for the 10 hour one, or as Emilie said one a week πŸ™‚ I figure I wouldnt get bored so easily, plus I would be committing myself to my stitching whether it be exhange stitching or my own stitching πŸ™‚

    *Hugs*

    Reply
  8. Svenja

    I gave up my daily rotation a couple of weeks ago and I find my stitching more relaxing now. I felt forced to work on the scheduled piece, I told myself that actually I don’t have to – but then what’s the point of having a rotation?! So now I’m doing a mixture of goal based and screaming rotation. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. Carina

    Yay–Now I can confess that I can’t rotation stitch with much success either!!! I have always been a “one project at a time” girl with a tiny project thrown in my car to keep me occupied during sports practices, school pick-ups, etc.

    Reply
  10. Nicki

    Whatever works best for you is what you should go for! Sometimes rotations work for me, sometimes they don’t.

    It’s all supposed to be fun, so just enjoy πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. Stitch

    Hi Christine! No worries about rotation…I can’t do one either I’m afraid..I just get too wrapped up in lots of different projects. πŸ™‚

    *HUGS*

    Ash

    Reply
  12. Kath

    Rotations are hard for me too and I am in awe of those who are able to have the discipline to do them. I knda think, as long as pieces do get finished, who the heck cares how!!!

    You go for what will work for you. I have found that best for me too. LOL

    Reply
  13. tkdchick

    Congrats on ditching your rotation. I’ve got a 2-3 piece rotation and that seems to work nicely with one piece being a focus and the other piece being only a one day rotation.

    Reply
  14. Lelia

    I’m not organized enough for any sort of ‘stitching schedule / rotation’. I’m more of a deadline stitcher — I know I need something for a gift or fair entry or exhibit — so, I have motivation to get them done. Otherwise, if I’m stitching for myself – or for fun, I grab a small thing.

    Just enjoy whatever you stitch …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

