Weekend report

Chicken pox is in da house!!!!

Guess how my weekend was? 😉

Lauryn came to me Friday evening, with a sore on her elbow. She wanted a band aid, and so I gave her one and thought nothing else of it – she is constantly hurting herself on various appendatures and this seemed to be no exception. Well Saturday she went outside to play, and when she came in the house, I noticed little spots all over her face. Upon closer inspection, and of her back and tummy, it is confirmed. She has chicken pox.

Poor thing – she is doing so well not scratching them too much. She doesn’t understand why she isn’t supposed to scratch, but instead she does a little dance that is supposedly helping! lol

She has had a rough couple of nights and this morning, after waking up about 5 times (that I can remember, I am sure Scott will correct me), through the night, she is now finally sleeping soundly (and still sleeping – it is almost 10:30). Seems her fever may have broken, and this is the best thing for her. Fortunately she has her father’s metabolism – one that gets over viruses and the like quickly. She is starting to scab now, so hopefully the worst is over.
—xxx—
Other than that, Mother’s Day was great. Kimber spoiled me rotten – I got two different photo frames from her (photo included) – one from school and one from Sparks. For the school one she had glued puzzle pieces on to card stock and cut out a heart frame. For the Sparks one she used stickers on card stock. Plus I got a gift from her that she put together when she met with the Brownie troop (Sparks and Brownies are levels in the Girl Guides – like Scouts, fyi). She had given me a wooden spoon with two Hershey’s kisses and a note – “A spoonful of love and a couple of whishes, hope you enjoy your Mother’s Day kisses.”

These gifts were sweet but my highlight was a letter she had written for me:

“My name is Kimber. My mom’s name is Christine. She love to crossstich. She is good at crossstichching. I am very important to her because she love me very mach. My mom and I are very good at the dishis. She hopes she has a grate mother’s day and so do I.

Kimber.”

lol! I love it! You can see how Kimber and I spend our quality time – doing “dishis”!
—xxx—
Now to “crossstichching”:

I had a HD this weekend, I finished off the last of our family’s ornaments:

I did the blue one for the Friends Gather 24 hour challenge and met it quite easily. It took me less than an hour to stitch it! rofl!

I did a little bit of work on Minuit last night, though not enough to really show off. Though she was out of her bag for almost 2 hours, I only got about 20 minutes worth of work done on her. Today I will be working on Woodland Faerie, as it is Monday! This weekend I managaged to get my RR fabric prepped and will be working on that on Tuesday. That is a fairly easy stitch and should be able to finish it off quickly, then move on to doing my Freindship Exchange piece for Tessa
—xxx—
On to other blatherings…

While perusing blogs this morning, I came accross a blog thing on Melissa’s blog. Unfortunately the response was pretty depressing (I was an albino belly dancer in Morrocco in a past life and died of the plague). When suddenly, my eyes were drawn to a frothy latte on the side bar. And so:

You Are an Espresso

At your best, you are: straight shooting, ambitious, and energetic

At your worst, you are: anxious and high strung

You drink coffee when: anytime you’re not sleeping

Your caffeine addiction level: high

Fitting, non? Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Weekend report

  1. Maria S.

    Re the chicken pox. Been there done that 3 times over. The best cream for it is Phenergan Cream. Highly recommended by physican’s nurse after her many kids came down with it. Trust me on this one. Maria S.

    Reply
  2. Wendy

    Sorry to hear about chicken pox ~ been there and done that too! I hope Lauryn is on the mend quickly.

    Great work on your family ornies. And I love the What kind of Coffee are you? I’m off to try it myself.

    Reply
  3. Outi

    Poor little Lauryn. 😦 And I *loved* Kimber’s letter! *giggles*

    …coffee…. *drools* (of course I had to take that test myself… ;))

    Reply
  4. Isabelle

    Oh, poor Lauryn 😦 I got it at 18 and I remember it very, very well (it’s often even worse when you get it older) 😦 I hope the itching will stop soon!

    Your ornaments are adorable! Can’t wait to see an update on Minuit.
    Kimber’s letter really cracked me up! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Von

    Sounds like Lauryn is doing pretty well with the chickenpox. Kirsten had it last fall and now I am officially done!! My oldest three got it all about the same time, then years later the younger three boys had it together. Then right when I was thinking the last one was going to need the vax, she came down with them.
    Your dragon ornies came out really cute. 😀 Now I’m off to see what kind of coffee I am, lol!

    Reply
  6. Jenna

    LOL. I gave my mom fits with the Chicken Pox – had it twice! Kimber’s letter was quite a hoot and I have to say that she did pretty well at her attempts to spell cross stitch! Great job on all of those ornaments. Now you just need to finish them; plenty of time left before Christmas. 😀

    Reply
  7. natty68

    Aww sorry about the chicken pox Christine. My mom was advised to put calamine lotion on it when I had it – I think it worked..lol. Give Lauryn lots of gentle hugs for being a brave girl and not scratching too much..Bless her.

    Your dragon dreams ornies are so sweet, they are absolutely adorable. Can’t wait to see them all stitched up and ready for Christmas.

    *Hugs*

    Reply
  8. Jenneke

    What a cute message from Kimber! Sorry about the chicken pox. The best medicine, as I remember, is love and care. I thinks she gets enough of that! And you made cute ornies for christmas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

