Quick (sort of) Update

I got an email today from Outi that she received her latest SBEBB AOS package. Good timing, too – I thought we were going to have to wait a month to see it.

Anyhoo – amongst other things, I sent her a bookmark I stitched up (sorry it is not clickable today – Blogger is being a pain):

This is inspired by the artwork of Gustav Klimt, the man who painted The Kiss. This seemed like a good choice for Outi since it seems to fit her personality. I got the pattern from one of my stitching books.

Which brings us to today’s SBQ as asked by Angela:

How many cross stitch books do you own and how often do you use them?

See how nicely that segwayed? I think it is quite clever!

Anyhoo – I own eight cross stitch books. Not many, I know, but I am more of a chart girl, really. And you will find most of my books are charts only.

The list:

120 Alphabets Book 2 – I use this one quite a bit, mostly for the simple alphabets. It isn’t often I will have a need for a circus alphabet or one featuring cows, but it has its uses.
Donna Kooler’s 555 Fabulous Cross-Stitch Patterns – I use this one sometimes, but most of the stuff is pretty cutsy, and that isn’t me. Plus this woman seems to be afraid of dragons, since there is very little fantasy motifs in this book. So right away you know I don’t use it a whole lot.
Sue Cook’s Wonderful Cross Stitch Collection – Much like the book above – except it has a wizard on the front. So you guessed correctly – I use this one more often.
8-Color Country Cross-Stitch – This one is handy when one only has eight floss colours available, but most of the patterns are very country and folksy. Not really my style, but every so often (like for an exchange), I need a pattern like this.
Simple to Sew: Cross-Stitch – Very simple patterns, but I keep it for the finishing ideas. The finishing is not rocket science in this book, but then if you have seen my finishing, you would understand why I need a basic techniques book like this.
Famous Paintings in Cross Stitch – This is the book I grabbed Outi’s bookmark from. Some lovely ideas, some finishing ideas, some cheesy ideas (like an eyeglasses case out of the eyes of the Mona Lisa). I do plan on stitching other patterns from this book… one day.

The next two are my two favourites. My Precious…es… so to speak.

Cross Stitch Fairies – I have owned this book for about 8 months now, and have stitched two patterns from it, with near-future plans for others. The alphabet rocks, the designs are beautiful, definately one of my favourite books.
The Best of Teresa Wentzler Fantasy Collection – Ok, so I haven’t actually stitched anything from this book yet, but one can only handle so many TWs at a time. Patience, my friends!

—xxx—

In other news… Scott did something to his neck on Monday and woke up unable to move. It seems his neck muscles have seized and he has a charley-horse type thing there. I don’t know the medical term the doctor gave him, but he is on drugs and moving very slooooowly. It is very painful for him to do much except lie there and sit on the couch, so I am on my own for the packing. Which isn’t such a bad thing – I will at least have a fairly good idea of where everything is.

We are not having really great luck with finding a new place, so we will be staying with Scott’s father & sister for a while until we find something. It seems three bedroom rental units are in huge demand. We are renting a storage unit and our lives will be packed away there for a while. The good part about that is that we can put stuff in there right away and out of the house.

That’s all for today (isn’t it enough? lol).

12 thoughts on “Quick (sort of) Update

  1. Outi

    Modern day children, leaving the country with short notice… O tempora o mores. πŸ˜‰ (But it’s almost 2Β½ days from purchasing the tickets to my lift-off… *grin*)

    Ah well, I could have forced my sister to take picture of it while I’m away. πŸ˜‰ (Someone has to check my mail box time to time anyway.) And I told her that she have to tell me when you parcel arrives. >:)

    But ah, I do love that bookmark. It’s going to see some world (Think of little bookmark’s life: from Canada to Finland, from here trough Netherland to Thailand. And back. It’ll write it’s memoirs soon. :P)

    Reply
  2. Isabelle

    That bookmark is beautiful! Lucky Outi πŸ™‚
    I’m sorry that Scott hurt his muscles, that can hurt so much 😦
    Keeping my fingers crossed that a nice place comes up!

    Reply
  3. Jenna

    Wow, what a beautiful bookmark! I wonder if Outi will share… πŸ˜‰ I hope that Scott is feeling better soon. I have problems with my shoulder and neck muscles and what you described sounds awful! Poor guy. 😦

    Reply
  4. AnneS

    Crikey, Christine, you’ve really had your hands full just lately, huh? Sorry I haven’t been around for a while, but I’m slowly catching up … very very slowly! I don’t envy you the moving scenario – been there too often myself just lately, and still have things unpacked 10 months later LOL. Hope everything goes smoothly for you – at least you have somewhere to go while looking for a new place πŸ™‚ Hang in there! πŸ˜€ And hope Scott’s neck sorts itself out soon πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Von

    So sorry Scott is out of commission. Neck and back problems are awful!
    Wishing you much luck with your packing up and finding a new home.
    Outi is a lucky gal – the bookmark is gorgeous. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  6. Lili

    I ADORE the bookmark: I’m a fan of Klimt’s paintings… It is so classy and original! Outi’s very lucky!
    I also love TW’s book…
    Sorry to read about that problem in finding some place to stay, living at the others’ place is not very comfortable… I hope this won’t last long!
    Poor Scott: together with the pain, he must be extremely frustrated to not be able to do anything to help (and sorry for you!). If you were in France, I would ask if this neck pain has anything to do with the football world cup… lol!
    Take care, Christine!

    Reply
  7. Stitch

    Hi Christine! Lovely bookmark!! πŸ™‚ I was thinking Klimt even before you said him..LOL It just looked like his style..that must be a neat xstitch book! πŸ™‚ Anyhoo, sorry to hear about Scott and his ailment…I do hope he feels better very soon! Good luck with the house search!! I’m sure you will find something soon…it’s just the summer and lots of people move during that time…don’t know why..as my idea of lifting heavy things in the blazin sun..does not appeal. :p

    Have a great day!

    X Stitch X

    Reply
  8. Jenneke

    Hi Christine! How awfull that you have to move without a permanent adress. The stress could explain Scott’s neck and back problems. Hope he’ll be better soon and you’ll find a nice place of your own. Great bookmark, by the way!

    Reply
  9. Wendy

    Good luck with your move ~ I hope you find a great place soon! Think of this as summer vacation. We have daughter and her BF moving in here next month,so we too are in the process of packing and moving stuff about, to make room for an apartment’s worth of their stuff.

    Ouch, sore neck, that is awfully painful! What a great girl you are to take on all the packing on your own.

    Reply
  10. lucyloo

    first time blogger here. i think the bookmark is fab. my sis wants me to stitch one for her. If I can only find the time to do another project!

    Reply
  11. tkdchick

    What a beautiful bookmark! Good luck with the move! Its hard when you have to do everything by yourself!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

