The move

The move, part one, is over. Woot. We are now comfortably settled in at FIL’s home, all our stuff is in storage, and I have oodles of stuff that I have to sort through and reorganize. Fun, fun.

Everyone is getting used to being here. The girls are loving it, of course. It is one giant sleep over here. The cats are settling in. They are having a grand adventure. There is an enclosed porch here, and being indoor cats, this is the closest they are allowed to get without being outside. There is a screen door they love to sit at and watch the birds and squirrels. That’s important because it also is their method of escape. It was official this morning. I had to run out into the yard and yell for Spike, since when I walked out onto the porch this morning the screen door was open and both cats were missing. Fortunately Turkey stayed on the porch, but Spike, being the more adventurous, was no where to be found. I did find him in the yard later, with a confused look – it seemed he hadn’t been there long and had not yet figured out how to get out of the yard. The problem comes from the screen door not being closed properly – it is an older door, and sometimes the bottom doesn’t line up with the rest and it gets closed on a slant – and there is an opening just large enough for a paw to get through. I think this is how they got out.

I have claimed my new stitching spot. On the porch is a lovely swing hidden from harsh sun and rain, and gloriously cool. A pic:

It is there that I finished my June ornament:

A rather quick stitch, as you can imagine. I did it the first day I was here.

So, it is also Wednesday and time for the SBQ. I missed last week, so that one first. It was suggested by Cheryl:

What do you do with your charts once you’ve stitched them? Do you keep them or dispose of them? If you keep them, do you organize them in a way that is different from the way you keep your unstitched charts?

I am a pack rat at heart (though I am trying to mend my ways! lol!), and part of me always thinks I may stitch the project again. I often will not, but the chart goes back into my stash nonetheless. Every once and a while I will come accross someone who would like the pattern and I come to my senses and let it go. Not often, though! lol!

And this weeks SBQ was suggested by Vash:

What is the biggest mishap you have had with your stitching material (i.e. spillages)?

That would be blood on Dragon Ride. I was framing it and sliced my finger preparing the frame. I didn’t notice and had blood all over the right side. Fortunately I managed to wash it out and what I couldn’t get was covered by the frame. Then with the Tribute piece I finished earlier this year, my lovely daughter took a pen to the fabric and added her own lovely design. Fortunately hairspray took that right out. The things you learn!

That’s all for today. Have a good day!

9 thoughts on “The move

  1. Michelle

    Congrats on the move! What a fabulous stitching spot you’ve picked out. Love your little finish.

    Reply
  2. Tracy Baby

    I’m so glad your move went well,I’ve moved alot and its always exhausting especially with kids and pets.I love your new stitching spot .take care

    Reply
  3. Wendy

    Glad to hear your move went well and your family is settled in…and you are already back to stitching!!

    Reply
  4. zoeandcooper

    Glad to hear that phase one has gone off without a hitch. Your new stitching spot looks perfect:)

    Reply
  5. Von

    Ah, a peaceful stitching spot amidst the reorganizing! Looks perfect, Christine. We’ll both spend our next few weeks going through our stuff, always keeping a brighter future in mind. 😀 There’s something cleansing for the soul in simplifying.

    Reply
  6. Jenny

    Your new stitching spot looks divine! Wish I could find a spot outside for stitching – but then if I was outside, my 2yr old would want to be out too – and I’d have to keep too close an eye on her to stitch!

    Reply
  7. tkdchick

    Oooh your kitties must be in heaven!!!

    Nice little stitching spot, and congratulations on your HD!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

