Exchange received

I noticed in Cathy’s blog this morning that she has received my recipe exchange piece. Yay!

Like a nob, I didn’t take a photo, so you will have to go visit her to see what I stitched.

One of the rules of the exchange was to include a recipe either from your country or that reflected your heritage. I thought I would share that recipe with y’all.

Soetekoek (now, I have no idea how to spell this. I have been googling and this is the best spelling I can come up with. Basically, this is honey cake. I have discovered that the Flemish really like honey.)

2 cups honey
2 tsp. anise (liquid preferred – grind to a very fine powder if herb is used)
1-1/2 cups milk
3 tsp. cinnamon
4 eggs
2 cups sugar
4 cups flour
4 tsp. salt
2-1/2 tsp. baking soda

Mix dry ingredients, add wet. Pour into greased bread pan. Bake at 350ºF for 1 hr 15 min. DO NOT OPEN OVEN DOOR. Makes 3 loaves.

Serve with real butter

—xxx—

In other news I have received my needleroll exchange partner’s name and info, so I will be starting that shortly. I am on the look out for the perfect pattern. I am pretty familiar with my recipient, so this should be quite fun!

I haven’t had any time since the weekend to stitch at all… sadly. We have been busy doing work around the house, trying to get as much done as possible while FIL is on vacation. This involves painting, cleaning, and other loads of fun stuff. Woot. (Can’t you just taste my excitement?)

That is all for now. Later!

2 thoughts on “Exchange received

  1. Isabelle

    I saw the exchange you stitched for Cathy – it’s great!
    And now you’re telling me you’re Flemish? Do you know I come from a Flemish country? The extreme North of France used to be Belgian until 300 years ago and my parent’s house is 15 minutes from the border. That part of France is still called “les Flandres”
    That honey cake sounds yummy! 😀

    Reply
  2. Stitch

    Hi Christine! Lovely exchange you did!! 🙂 I like that whole concept actually…I love doing exchanges..it’s just 99 percent of the time..I wind up with partners..that don’t do their part in return..so I try to stay out of them. Although seeing all your nifty pieces…makes that itch..itch again. LOL The honey cake sounds good too! 🙂 Thanks for the recipe!

    Have a good one! Don’t clean too much…you might be like me..and not recognize your house..LOLOLOL

    X Stitch X

    Reply

Leave a Reply

