Let’s squeeze it all in one post.

Morning, everyone! I have a day off today so I thought I would take a few minutes and show you what is going on.

First my RR made it home, as previously mentioned. The finished product (sorry, Blogger is misbehaving again, it will have to be Photobucket):

Mylene, Leslie, and Renee all did an amazing job! I let them choose the colouring that best suited the season they were stitching and I absolutely love choices!

I wanted to thank you all for the support of my scheduling issues. This is the first holiday season in a long time that I am working and I think I have forgotten how to schedule myself. Yesterday I had the day off as well and I managed to sit down and do something that has been waiting for some time and was getting quite urgent – paying bills and working out a budget for the month. For the first time in a long time I was in a great mood when I finished! lol! I guess working isn’t all that bad. πŸ˜‰ Not only are bills getting paid, but we also are able to pay down some old bills that are getting dangerous. What a great feeling.

Last night I sat down and enjoyed the latest episode of Numb3rs and got a good chunk done on Mylene’s RR, and that is exciting, too. The end is near!

I noticed Blogger is making a big push for us to move to Beta. I was wondering if those of you who have switched over if you could email me (cgdoyle@gmail.com) and let me know what you think – good and bad, please!

—xxx—
And finally, something a friend sent me that made me smile.

The government recently calculated the cost of raising a child from birth to 18 and came up with $160,140 for a middle income family.
Talk about sticker shock! That doesn’t even touch college tuition.

But $160,140 isn’t so bad if you break it down. It translates into:

* $8,896.66 a year,

* $741.38 a month, or

* $171.08 a week.

* That’s a mere $24.24 a day!

* Just over a dollar an hour.

Still, you might think the best financial advice is don’t have children if you want to be “rich.” Actually, it is just the opposite. What do you get for your $160,140?

* Naming rights. First, middle, and last!

* Glimpses of God every day.

* Giggles under the covers every night.

* More love than your heart can hold.

* Butterfly kisses and Velcro hugs.

* Endless wonder over rocks, ants, clouds, and warm cookies.

* A hand to hold, usually covered with jelly or chocolate.

* A partner for blowing bubbles, flying kites

* Someone to laugh yourself silly with, no matter what the boss said or how your stocks performed that day.

For $160,140, you never have to grow up. You get to:
* finger-paint,

* carve pumpkins,

* play hide-and-seek,

* catch lightning bugs, and

* never stop believing in Santa Claus.

You have an excuse to:

* keep reading the Adventures of Piglet and Pooh,

* watching Saturday morning cartoons,

* going to Disney movies, and

* wishing on stars.

* You get to frame rainbows, hearts, and flowers under refrigerator
magnets and collect spray painted noodle wreaths for Christmas, hand
prints set in clay on Mother’s Day, and cards with backward letters
for Father’s Day.

For $160,140, there is no greater bang for your buck. You get to be
a hero just for:

* retrieving a Frisbee off the garage roof,

* taking the training wheels off a bike,

* removing a splinter,

* filling a wading pool,

* coaxing a wad of gum out of bangs, and coaching a baseball team
that never wins but always gets treated to ice cream regardless.

You get a front row seat to history to witness the:

* first step,

* first word,

* first bra,

* first date, and

* first time behind the wheel.

You get to be immortal. You get another branch added to your family
tree, and if you’re lucky, a long list of limbs in your obituary
called grandchildren and great grandchildren. You get an education
in psychology, nursing, criminal justice, communications, and human
sexuality that no college can match.

In the eyes of a child, you rank right up there under God. You have
all the power to heal a boo-boo, scare away the monsters under the
bed, patch a broken heart, police a slumber party, ground them
forever, and love them without limits. So, one day they will, like
you, love without counting the cost. That is quite a deal for the
price!!!!!!!

Love & enjoy your children & grandchildren!!!!!!!

15 thoughts on “Let’s squeeze it all in one post.

  1. Carina

    Christine, I absolutely LOVE how your RR turned out!!! And thanks for the “figures” on raising children; it reminded why I stay home every day with four children! And believe me, sometimes I need a reminder! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. AnneS

    What a gorgeous RR – it’s no wonder you’re so pleased with it! πŸ™‚ As for Beta blogger, I’ve been given the unsubtle hint to move over, and worried I’ll lose my template etc … but I think a few lately have swapped over without a hitch, but I could be mistaken – I’ll be dickering over it for another few days before I make the big decision to move …

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

    The RR is gorgeous, and the part about the kids…how true!
    I might even have to steal it for my own blog. πŸ™‚
    Don’t worry, I’ll remember to let everyone know where I stole it from…

    Reply
  4. Anonymous

    Hi Christine! I changed to Blogger Beta a few weeks ago, and I have loved it and I have hated it. The transfer over went without a hitch, and intially I was so thrilled with how quickly and easily pictures and text were posting…gone were the long waits and sporadic uploading. But one must remember it is still a Beta version, and the bugs are not worked out yet. There was one weekend where the toolbar for posting was just plain gone! And for a couple weeks I could not post to anyone’s blog who had not yet moved to Beta. That was very frustrating, but seems to be okay now. At least it seems they are working on fixes as soon as they can. If you move over, be prepared for some little annoyances. I don’t know why they are pushing it so hard when it obviously isn’t quite ready yet. But it will be wonderful when it is.

    Reply
  5. juls

    Amazing post! I don’t have children and for the first time I felt sad about that….I may have to steal it for my blog and of course credit you! Your RR is wonderful!!

    Reply
  6. Michelle

    Your RR turned out beautiful! So glad that your bill-paying and budgeting went well. That is always a good feeling! Hope you get your schedule figured out, it is a busy time of year – so be sure to take some time for yourself!

    Reply
  7. Karen

    Your RR is gorgeous! What a treasure. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for sharing about the “cost” of children. It made me smile.

    Have a great day!

    Reply
  8. Michelle

    Ah, so THAT’s what it “costs” to raise children?! :o)

    I was digging thru your wishlist, I happen to have one that you want that I doubt I will ever do. Trade?

    Lemme know if you’re interested!

    mmshelle01 at yahoo

    Reply
  9. Wendy

    Your RR looks great! And I love the flip side of the cost of children, instead I usually just hear about the costs.

    I’ve made the Big Switch and so far the only problem has been not having my comments show up occasionally on different blogs. Let’s see what happens to this one?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

