The SBQ

So I was downloading my email in the wee hours of the morning this morning after work and I noticed the SBQ for this week dropped in my inbox. My first reaction? “NOOOOO!!!! I haven’t done last weeks yet!!!!” So, enough procrastinating.

SBQ for February 28, as suggested by Danielle:

Do you find yourself stitching faster when you are getting to the end of a design?

I don’t think I stitch faster as that leads to frogging. But I do stitch more frequently, which makes it appear faster. The excitement of finishing a project is too exciting and I usually let all other things fall to the wayside. Oh, wait, I do that on a daily basis anyways.

SBQ for March 8:

Do you use your needle, a seam ripper, or something else when you have to frog stitches? Why do you use the method that you do?

It depends on the area of frogging. If it is a large amount, I grab my scissors and snip away. If it is only a small area I use my needle. I am such a floss miser that if I use a seam ripper it destroys the thread and I would like to continue using it, if possible. So I use the back of my needle to minimize fraying.

—xxx—

I have to admit I have done very little stitching recently. They are getting good at work at scheduling just enough people to keep us all busy, so there is very little time to stitch in between calls. Any stitching that I have been doing I would have to rip out anyway, so I haven’t bothered. And I have had very little time recently to stitch at home. When I do have time, I find myself doing other things – playing WoW, or reading. This reading thing is a recent developement. Even my gaming has suffered from this plague. I used to be a voracious reader, constantly with my nose in a book. Then life happened and children and work and (gah!) housework and my reading took a nose dive. On Sunday we went for dinner to Super Nan’s house and she lent me a couple books – the first one I read in one night! I cannot believe how much I have missed reading. Yesterday morning we all went to the library and I got Kimber and I a library card (Scott already had his) and we all came home with huge stacks of books. I wish I had taken a picture of the scene as I was making lunch – Scott and the girls were all on the couch, book in hand. The house only get’s that quiet at 4am!

My current read? Mistress of Dragons by Margaret Weis.

4 thoughts on “The SBQ

  1. Jenna

    I’ve experienced the same thing with books. I read a lot when I was a child and we went to the library nearly every weekend. Time to read pretty much died when I graduated from college and got into the “real world.” Plus, stitching is a pretty consuming hobby and I got back into that full-force. However, I did pick books back up when I was ill for those 3 weeks in December. I finished one Robert Jordan novel and started another, but I’ve slacked off again. What was working really well for a little while was that I would go up to bed early, stick in a pair of earplugs and read while Terry watched TV. I should get back to that.

    Reply
  2. Pam

    Welcome to my life! LOL. I have the very same problems. I can’t stitch at work, I love to play WoW to relax, as well as read, and then squeeze in housework, and you know, cooking… because for some reason these people here like to eat LOL. I don’t have time to do it all and usually get obsessed with one thing and it takes over for awhile. I have seriously considered making a schedule for each day to plot out how to work everything in, too bad I’ve found out I’m to lazy to work it all out and set it up. Enjoy whatever you choose to do, everything else will be waiting for you when you get to it 😉

    Reply
  3. Von

    Another reader here. 🙂

    I rode my bike to the library all the time as a kid, then when I was a little older I found the used book store and would buy bags of books to take on our family summer vacation. Adult responbilities have taken a toll on my reading time – except for when I was pregnant with my twins. While not on bedrest, activities were curtailed and once again I found myself reading ravenously. Stitching around my huge stomach was uncomfortable, lol! Now if I get five books read a year, I’ve done pretty well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

