The completed set

I have finished the mittens and now I have the whole set complete. I wore the mittens for the first time tonight on my drive home and realized it has been a long, long time since I last put a pair on. It was very difficult to carry my bags, my keys, my purse, open the vehicle door, fandangle all my stuff in the van, drive home, open the door, get all my stuff back out of the van, close the door in a manner that did not catch the mittens in the door, manoever the keys to get into the building, and unlock the front door. Plus it felt weird on my fingers – I guess my fingers don’t like to touch each other, liking the fabric of gloves, better. Weird. They are toasty warm, though, and soft!

—xxx—

Having finished the mittens, I thought I would bring in the crochet afghan and get started on that again at work tonight. So I grab everything, open the bag of yarn, pull out the afghan – and the yarn is the wrong shade of blue!!!! Gah! And I don’t even have the original receipt to exchange it for the right colour. So now I have (what feels like) 50lbs of yarn and nothing to use it on.

I guess I will have to make myself a sweater or something. Heh. Any suggestions?

7 thoughts on “The completed set

  1. Alberta

    I love hand knit mittens!!!! They look beautiful.I’ve only ever done 1 pair on double pointed needles…that wasn’t a pretty sight but I got them finished. Now I can appreicate the work that goes into them even more.

    Reply
  2. Hazel

    They look great. Is there no way you could do a two colour way on your afghan?? Maybe a nice summer vest top with a matching scarf? I’m not very creative lol sorry.
    xx

    Reply
  3. Suz

    I love the mittens!! I need mittens, but first, I need to learn to knit that well 🙂

    Great job on the set!

    Reply
  4. Jenna

    What a great set! I’m glad that you are getting good use out of them, even if it takes some adjustment time for mittens. 🙂 Now, let’s see some stitching? 😉

    Reply
  5. Wendy

    A sweater for one of your girls would be a great idea. There are tons of freebie knitting patterns on line. Your winter woolies look great!

    Reply
  6. peets-coffee

    Fair Trade Coffee is an organization that protects the laborers who work hard to bring you great coffee. Fair Trade Coffee is produced a bit differently from regular

    beans, but still ensures that the beans are of the highest caliber.

    In the United States people drink a lot of coffee, from cappuccino to espresso. Most people couldn’t face a day without their morning cup, but most people have no

    clue how coffee is made. Fair Trade Coffee helps bring information on this process to the many coffee drinkers in the U.S.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

