Birthday Meme

Well it is my birthday today, turning 3-(cough), and I thought I would celebrate by stealing a meme from Jenna:

Meme instructions:

1) Go to Wikipedia
2) In the search box, type your birth month and day but not the year.
3) List three events that happened on your birthday
4) List two important birthdays and one death
5) One holiday or observance (if any)

Three events:

  • 1848 – In Boston, Massachusetts, the first medical school for women, the Boston Female Medical School (which later merged with the Boston University School of Medicine), opens.
  • 1512 – The ceiling of the Sistine Chapel, painted by Michelangelo, is exhibited to the public for the first time.
  • 1604 – William Shakespeare’s tragedy Othello is presented for the first time, at Whitehall Palace in London. **(As an interesting fourth item – The Tempest is presented for the first time in the same place on the same day 7 years later)

Two important birthdays:

  • 1942 – Ralph Klein, Premier of Alberta (until last year. Which explains a lot about the man. Seriously.)
  • 1808 – John Taylor, American religious leader (d. 1887)

One death:

  • 1972 – Ezra Pound, American poet (b. 1885)

One holiday or observance:

  • Mexico- Day of the Dead celebrations begin. (I grew up observing All Saints Day on this day, but Day of the Dead is a day that has always seemed interesting to me. It seems like such a wonderful way to honour our ancestors.)
14 thoughts on “Birthday Meme

  1. Melanie

    You are *so* not allowed a “cough” there, not when you’re younger than me, Miss! When you’re older than me, well ok, you can fib about your age!

    Happy Birthday!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  2. Judie

    Hope you had a great day filled with many stitching hours. Cows are coming along – nearly finished. But – then tons of backstitching. I will forward a picture of the finished product.

    Reply
  3. (the other) Christine

    Hi there, sorry I missed your Birthday Post! I’ve been sadly absent from the blogging world (my own included) for the past month or so and have rarely been checking on my regulars.

    So, here we go…

    *singing off key*
    (HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY)
    Happy Birthday You!
    (HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY)
    I hope your dreams come true!

    I know you can’t hear the tune, so you probably think I’m a bit stunned right now, but trust me, it’s better than ACTUALLY hearing me sing it. lol

    Hope you had a great Birthday!!

    Reply
  4. pardeep12

    Hey sorry I missed your last birthday post. waiting for the next one. Don’t forget to take the designer stadium cups at your next birthday party.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

