Working out a rotation

So I thought this year I would try a rotation system and see how it goes. My problem is that I am now taking on an additional role at work and have less time to stitch there. While I am excited about doing something different at work, I will miss my stitching time. Therefore I will try to set aside an hour or two each night for stitching. Wish me luck!

So I thought I would do a weekly rotation. The projects I have on the go are:

Minuit
Woodland Faerie
Always
Egyptian Sampler
Knit patch blanket
Crochet throw

So I thought I would just go in that order.

Week one – Minuit
Week two – Woodland Faerie
Week three – Always
Week four – Egyptian Sampler
Week five – knit blanket. When I am finished with the knit blanket I will finish the crochet throw.
Week six – Screaming week! This week I do what ever strikes my fancy.

The next new starts I have planned will be substituted in the slot that is finished. Celestial Dragon and a Christmas stocking are what I have lined up right now.

I have come up against a problem that is becoming irritable. I have carpel tunnel in my left wrist and it is hindering any computer or knitting work I do. I haven’t tried stitching in a few weeks and am afraid that it might become a problem. Does anyone have any tips on what to do? Unfortunately computer work is a huge part of my life being as it is a tool I use 100% of the time at work and I spend a lot of time on the computer at home as well. So, any tips are appreciated!

6 thoughts on “Working out a rotation

  1. Berta

    After not having problems with my carpal tunnel, it returned with a vengeance after I did some knitting last month.

    My solution, after I finished , I took a couple of over the counter painkillers and then when I went to bed I warmed my buckwheat bag and laid my wrists across it. I’m a back sleeper since I had my back injury. I had minimal pain through the night and woke refreshed and ready to knit more.

    This isn’t a long term solution but I’m hesitant about any surgery! Hope your pain eases!

    Reply
  2. Jenna

    I had the same problem a couple of years ago. Working on the computer all day, then going home and being on the computer at night, plus stitching really did me in. My couple of suggestions would be to first make sure your workstation at work receives an ergonomic assessment. If your company doesn’t have anyone to do that, I would urge you to look up information online about the proper positioning, etc. Next, do you have arm splints? I have soft ones that can be worn at night and that did a lot to help rest things while I was sleeping. Finally, I have, and still use periodically, some Hand-Eze gloves for stitching. I still get a little flare now and then, but am mostly symptom free now. Good luck!

    Reply
  3. Jacqui

    Hi, I followed a link from another blog and came across yours. I’ve loved reading through your archives and seeing all your finishes. I totally sympathise with you about the CTS. I had this about 7 years ago and ended up having surgery to release it. Not nice.

    I’ve added your blog to my list for regular reading.

    Reply
  4. Vicki

    I’m starting a rotation this year, also. I’m going to do something different each day of the week. I’ve done 2 days now and I really like it! I, too, have problems with CTS. Thankfully, it doesn’t bother me much when I’m stitching – just sometimes my hands go numb and I have to stop for a while! Have a great day, and good luck at work!

    Reply
  5. Beatrice

    Hi Christine.
    I just discovered the Google Reader and I have put you on mine so I will see when you are posting….Soon I hope.
    I also hope your wrist is getting better.

    your rotation looks like a good Idea , I hope it works for you..
    I will check in the next time you post.
    Take care
    Beatrice

    Reply

Leave a Reply

