A Virtual SBQ

Today’s SBQ is:

When you stitch a pattern that you have downloaded do you print out the pattern or do you stitch directly from your computer screen?

 Well, I have collected one or two online patterns over the years. Mostly because I am cheap and there is no end of freebies one can get. And I have, on occasion, had the desire to stitch one or two of these beauties. I have also, on occasion, had the desire to stitch these beauties when I don’t have a printer available.  Now, I am a hilighter, or a crosser-outer if need be. The outcome resulting from stitching directly from the screen isn’t pretty.

 So, to keep the frogs at bay, I have a printer near me as often as possible. And if I am not going a printer available, then pray to the gods a thumb drive is free since I will be transporting it to the local library or poor family member when the urge is there!

I have tried printing them all out and keeping them in a binder/folder/pile beside the desk/filing cabinet, but ink is expensive. And, I have discovered, I have a much higher inclination to save the file “just in case” rather than stitch most of them.

(As a side note – I have almost as many crochet and knitting patterns saved up as stitching patterns. I figured it would be easier to do these from the screen, but I was wrong. Turns out I need to mark up my pattern for those, too. I am surprised I can count without using my fingers, some days.)

3 thoughts on “A Virtual SBQ

  1. Jenna

    I don’t tend to mark my charts that often, but I prefer to print them, just in case I need to. We all have our finger-counting moments, trust me. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Beatrice

    I too print out my chart…but only the one that I’m stitching at the time. I have them on the computer and I use them as my screen saver so I can see them all the time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

