Blended Threads

This week’s SBQ was suggested by … me… and is:

How do you handle blended threads? Do you kit the blends up before you start a piece, or do you grab what colors you need and blend when the need arises? If you kit up the blends beforehand, how do you store them? Do you have another option for blends to share?

I asked this question because of this:

This is the bottom of my ES piece. I blend as I go, but sometimes I have full lengths of blends for small amounts of stitches. The lengths are already there and being a floss miser, I don’t want to get rid of them, so the get tacked on with the symbol at the bottom of my fabric.

The only trouble with this is that they get in the way, or worse, tangled up. I try to keep it as tidy as possible, but sometimes it just happens.

I have considered carding my floss, but what if my measurements are off? And I have so many projects on the go at one time that all use the same types of colours (especially the Teresa Wentzler pieces – 420 anyone?), that I don’t really want separate kits for each piece.

Hence my question. It isn’t a huge problem, but rather more of an annoyance, really.

And I’m sorry, no new updates to ES since the last photo. My needle has been dormant, I am afraid. Let’s blame a busy work schedule!

2 thoughts on “Blended Threads

  1. Beatrice

    I’m Glad to see the ES. It is a wonderful piece.I’ve been off for awhile but back at it now.I Retire tomorrow …yippee!!

    Reply
  2. Cathy

    I put my blends just for that project in a snack baggie with a piece of paper saying what two colors make up the blend and the symbol. One snack baggie for each blend. Once the project is finished, I separate the blended colors and put the thread back on the bobbin in my main bobbin storage case. I keep the snack baggies for the next blended need.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

