A Change

It seems I have a theme going with my lack of blogging. My introductory statement is usually an apology for going missing, then I fill you in on the lack of stitching, then I tell you that I will try to do better next time. Of course I never do.

I have realized that the reason I haven’t been blogging is because I haven’t been stitching. I have hit the mother of all slumps, and I am inclined to think this goes as far back as the slump I had been complaining about late last year and early this year.

It further occurred to me that this is my blog, and it does not always have to be about stitching. I feel I have made some wonderful friends who also happen to stitch through this blog, and if I am unable to just chat about every day goings-on, then we can’t really be good friends, can we. And that would be just offensive. So – since I don’t want to offend my friends, I will start behaving as one – a friend and open my door a bit and let you in.

Not that I really have anything to hide. I feel on some days my life is not very exciting, and who wants to read about random weird thoughts I have? But those random weird thoughts make me who I am and I have embraced that part of me, so here we are. Welcome to the dark side. At least we have cookies. 🙂

That is not to say I will stop discussing stitching when it strikes my fancy. And I haven’t given up stitching, I just have not done any significant work in a while.

Minuit has a few beads added here and there, when I have 20 minutes in front of the television or when the phones and e-mails at work are slow. But I only have been doing this since I am so close to completion and it seems that I should just finish it. Perhaps that’s my problem. Stitching has become a chore rather than a pleasure.

So what else have I been doing? Playing World of Warcraft (though even that hasn’t really been high on the list), reading Harry Potter (finally got my hands on book 7 and finished the series!), exploring other authors that I haven’t read before. Going to work, coming home, playing with the girls, going to bed. At the moment I am leading a very mundane existance.

I personally find it sad. Like I said, I am not sure anyone would want to be a part of this drab life, but its mine. And in that I will share the sparks of excitement I find. Like my thoughts on Captain Jack (my favourite shot of him, btw). Except this is a public blog and I can’t guarantee the age group of my readership.

….

You may want to fill in your own blanks there. I know I just did. 😉

One thought on “A Change

  1. Anne S

    Nice to see a post from you 🙂 And it doesn’t always have to be about stitching. I’ve been going through similar issues to you in that blogging hasn’t held that old spark it used to … and neither has stitching for a wee while … but that’s what makes up life – it has its ups and downs in every way. Personally I’ll be happy to see a post every now and then – just to see you’re OK 🙂 But we’re all still here, ready to catch up when you’re ready 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

