Welcome to the new year

I apologize, again, for not blogging for a while. So much has happened!

Let us start from the beginning. Scott had applied, in June of 2007, to join the Canadian Armed Forces. This is something he has always wanted to do, since he was small. He had been a CF member when he was younger, but received a medical discharge due to an accident. Since then, he has applied numerous times without result.

At the beginning of November, 2008, Scott mentioned since we had not heard anything from the CF up to that point, it was likely nothing would come of this application, either. He suggested perhaps he should apply with the RCMP (our national police force).

A few days later, I was home and received phone call for Scott from a Sgt. Someone from A Bunch Of Letters. I got excited, thinking his application for the RCMP was moving quickly. Scott called them back, and it was the Department of National Defence – the CF had finally called. A whirlwind of activity later, and Scott was sworn in as a soldier December 16.

official-handshake

Since then, we have been busy filling out paperwork, shopping for his supplies, and of course keeping up with Christmas.

Scott is off to boot camp this Sunday, January 4. He will be gone for a period of 14 weeks, returning just before Easter if all goes well.

This opportunity is affording me the chance to stay home. I have quit my job (which I am very excited about), and am now working out a bit of a schedule for myself to balance the housework and odd jobs I have for myself and stitching and gaming time. Not to mention I want to start to learn to cook some more exciting dishes!

Stitching during this time has been absolutely non-existent. I have done some knitting and crochet, however, and have made a nice hat and mitts set for myself. I am working on a purse, however it is not working as nicely as I like. The purse is very likely going to be pulled and started again.

hat121408mittens121208

So for my first order of business once things settle into place is to busy myself with Egyptian Sampler while watching the Food Network. Two birds with one stone! lol!

In the mean time, I realize I have not been very available. So to bribe your way back to me (haha!), I have a give away. I have a 2009 Cross Stitcher Calendar featuring designs by Margaret Sherry, for 16 months.

The down side is that this calendar is already started, beginning with September. But if you stitch anything like me, it is never following a time line anyway!

Simply comment on this blog and you will be entered in the draw. Please be sure to include your e-mail address when filling out the form so I can contact you if I don’t have your current address. The draw will happen January 20, 2009.

Good luck!

9 thoughts on “Welcome to the new year

  1. Judie

    Glad to see you are back blogging. Now that you are a stay at home mom – perhaps we will hear more from you. Exciting news about Scot. Glad he is able to finally fulfil one of his dreams. All the best to you and your family in the new year.

    Reply
  2. Rebecca

    WOW! We don’t hear from you and life REALLY changes! Yea to Scott for following his dream, which leads nicely into you getting to follow your dreams a little closer as well!

    Hope the girls had a lovely Christmas and I hope the times that Scott is away will fly by quickly…

    Reply
  3. Kathy A

    Oh hon, I am so glad to hear from you. Have been wondering what you were up to.
    How wonderful for Scott to follow his dream. And for you to be able to stay home and have some time with your girls.
    Hope you get back to stitching soon!
    Many hugs

    oh, and the draw, toss my name please!

    Reply
  4. Beatrice

    Oh my, Christine that is such great news. Good things happen to good people!
    I’m thrilled for you and that you can stay home with the girls is even better,
    Good luck to Scott and know we miss you and speak of you often.
    Hope to see some stitching soon!
    The draw sounds like a great plan count me in please!
    Love Beatrice

    Reply
  5. sugarlemon

    Happy new year! What great changes for you all Christine. I hope you have a wonderful time staying home. The pictures of you and the girls on Facebook are great, btw!

    Reply
  6. Annmcd

    Great to hear such good news from you Christine! I am just glad that you back to blogging and will have time to indulge yourself a bit in your knitting and stitching by staying home. The girls will love having you there all the time. Kudos to Scott for this major career change.
    You can leave my name out of the draw and let someone else win. I have plenty of calendars for 2009!

    Reply
  7. Leah

    Big congrats to your hubby! My DH has been in the Forces for the past 14 years, and he absolutely loves it.

    I’m envious of your SAHM status. I’m sure it will be good for your family and particularly good for you! 😉

    Reply
  8. Anne S

    Wow, huge congrats to Scott, that’s really awesome for him. And I’m especiallly jealous now of all that glorious stitching time you’ll be having … you do know, though, that you’re setting us up to have high expectations of you with all those upcoming finishes LOL (ducking for cover!). 😀

    Reply
  9. Vicki

    Give my congrats to Scott. You will love being a SAHM. I’m a retired teacher, and I love it. I wish I could have stayed at home when my children were little. Please put my name in your drawing; I really like Margaret Sherry’s designs. My email address is trudy5429@yahoo.com. Have a great day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

