Hello everyone; I apologize for disappearing after promising to be around. Apparently the company with which I do business for my internet actually wanted to get paid. Oops.

Anyway. I am still offline for a while, but am spending some time at the library to touch base.

Congratulations to Beatrice for winning my draw! I have sent you an e-mail to confirm your address. When I hear back from you, your package will be sent right away.

In the past few weeks, you can well imagine I have been crafting away. Considering the cold snaps we have been getting, -30 degree Celsius temperatures give way to very little else. Egyptian Sampler has seen a lot of time and I have also been very busy knitting and crocheting.

Before I get itoo much farther, let me show you a progress photo of ES:

es0130091

Nice, huh? I have come some way since you last saw this project.

I have been doing some crochet as well and finished my purse for my set. I don’t think I have shown you the hat and mitts that go along, so here is all three.

((EDIT: It seems I forgot to take the photo. I will have to get it to you next time!))

The purse came out much smaller than I expected, but it is still quite nice. I can fit the few essentials I need, but I imagine for convenience my regular bag will still be used.

On to knitting. I borrowed a couple of books from the library and found one right at my level: “The Yarn Girls’ Guide to Beyond the Basics” by Julie Carles and Jordana Jacobs. I already know how to knit and purl, cast on and off so I was ready for a few new techniques. And check out what I learned:

cable2

I can cable!! How exciting is this? I had no idea it was this easy. Now all I need to do is master that “in the round” business. I was so excited that I was able to do this that I got ambitious and figured I could make a sweater. I found an easy pattern (without cables, but a nice pattern nonetheless) and voila.

sweater-front-detail1sweaterback1sweater11

Lauryn picked out her colours (all of them, as you can see) and away I went. It fits her quite nicely. I don’t like the moss edging (this was an uneven number of stitches, k1 and p1 all the way along, making it a bumpy finish) and think the next one will have ribbing.

I was very pleased with my finishing here, too. You can hardly tell where my side seams are and the raglan corners came together beautifully. I will definately be doing more of this.

I have the yarn to make one for Kimber next. She has requested one with a hood and a zipper, so we will see how I do there. The colour is a bright pink, so there will be no hiding my diva! I suppose I should be pleased about them being exciting girls, not willing to hide behind neutrals.

In the mean time, I am getting my cabling in by knitting a poncho for Kimber. She had chosen a pretty blue verigade chunky yarn and I came up with my own pattern (with three cables!) for it. Have no fear, it is pretty easy. I will be posting photos of that and the pattern when it is complete.

And finally quickly before I go, yesterday was a snow day for the girls and Kimber has decided she wanted to learn to sew. And with a few shaky seams and hems, voila:

p1290008

That is all for now. Stay warm!

6 thoughts on “

  1. Rebecca

    Nice to see you all! And I agree, the weather is not very nice here in ON as well….wish I could just stay in with my boys and stitch the day away.
    Oh well, all your projects look lovely…and the sweater is so sweet, along with the girl inside 🙂
    Take care,
    Rebecca

    Reply
  2. Beatrice

    Oh my I can’t wait thanks you so much for picking my name in the draw.
    My snail mail has been sent to you by email…
    Egypt is looking awesome. Wow you have done a lot on it.
    The girls look great and sewing can be a lot of fun. I did it at their age too.
    Take care and stay warm!

    Reply
  3. Kathy A

    Your Egyptian sampler is looking good girl. Way to go.
    You have been knitting up a storm. Those needles must be smoking. How cool that Beatrice won your draw!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

