A lack of interesting meme’s blog

I have been browsing various meme sites to get my thoughts flowing and get content actually on this blog. Today nothing is grabbing my fancy, so I thought I would pose a question of my own.

The other day, the movie “Awakenings” was on television. If you are not familiar with the storyline, it is based on a true story. Robin Williams plays a doctor with a wing full of encephalitis patients. These patients have been comatose for a significant amount of time and he uses an experimental drug and “wakes” them. They are out of their catatonic states for a few months, then revert back. Robert DeNiro plays one of the patients, and it is, in my opinion, one of his best rolls.

My question is, what would you prefer if you were one of these patients? Would you want to be woken? Would you want to know what you have missed?

I don’t know if I could answer this honestly. It is difficult to imagine being the equivalent of asleep for 30 years, and waking up to find that your life has disappeared. On one hand, what would be the point? Ignorance is bliss. On the other, it would be amazing to see the changes in the world, to see our advancements. And it would definately make one appreciate what one has. What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

