Baked Beans

Yesterday I experimented and made baked beans, from Scott’s grandmother’s recipe. It turned out quite well and I thought I would share.

beans

You will need one bag of navy beans (this is those little white beans; I found them at Wal-mart in 1kg bags. I imagine most grocery stores should have them). Soak them in a lot of water over night. You will need lots as they expand and take up space.

Drain and wash the beans. Boil beans until they split in two. Do not drain.

In a large crock, mix:

1 chopped onion

½ cup molasses (or one can of tomato soup – do not add water!)

½ cup ketchup

1/3 cup mustard ** IMHO, needs more mustard.

Salt & pepper to taste

1 clove garlic

½ lb chopped cooked bacon or ham

Scoop beans into crock, mixing well with each scoop. Add water from the boiled beans until all the beans are covered (mine floated. I have no idea how much water this comes to, but I added around another cup and a half of water, to make it slightly runny.).

Bake in the crock for 5-7 hours. Around ½ hour from finish, scoop out a small amount of beans and mash them and add them back to the crock. This will thicken the mixture.

*** I only cooked mine for 4 hours. Any more and I am sure I would have ended up with a brick of beans.

Leave a Reply

