Tales from the kitchen and other suitably scary stories

Today I made croquettes. I remember my mom making these when I was a girl and I loved them. I asked her for her recipe to which she replied with “mash potatoes, roll them into the proper shape, dip in egg white and crushed corn flakes, deep fry”. Simple enough. I tried it and failed miserably. The coating for the potato kept falling off and did not stick. My first batch in the deep fryer ended up as potato bits rather than croquettes.

Then I grabbed a clue. Dip in egg white THEN crushed corn flakes. Turned out much better. And just as tasty as I remember. They did not stay together as well as I remember, though. Maybe the potatoes were not moist enough or too moist before I fried them. I don’t know.

The girls enjoyed them, though Lauryn did not like the “filling” too much. I think next time some garlic and cheese is in order.

croquettes

One thought on “Tales from the kitchen and other suitably scary stories

  1. Kathy A

    They look very yummy. don’t you love it when our moms give us recipes with no measurements and it is usually followed by the line “it’s not hard to make!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

