Some happy hooking


In the last couple of weeks I have had a very large desire to crochet. Having found a really great deal on yarn didn’t help, I have enough to last me for a while. But I have been trying to limit my projects to things I can complete quickly so that I don’t have all kinds of WIPs packed away.

I found a wonderful website with lots of weird and fun things to make, Craftbits.com. I found a couple of things I could do quite quickly and easily:

This is *supposed* to be a troll. The mohair I used was too tightly woven, I suppose, and my embroidery leaves a lot to be desired. But he is so ugly, he’s cute. Lauryn has dubbed him “Pugly”.

As Lauryn got her hands on that little fellow, Kimber had to have something, too. So:

So she got a sock monkey bookmark. Its quite cute, and the basic idea is easy enough to replicate into pretty much any animal one wants.

Getting then on the kick of sock monkeys, I decided I wanted a sock monkey hat. I searched for quite some time for a pattern, without any luck. I don’t know why its such a guarded secret, so I made my own.

And in case anyone else wants to try it, the pattern:

—–//—-

I worked this with thick yarn (and the brown was a combination of both brown and white sport weight yarn) and a larger hook (US8, 5mm). This made a fairly large hat. If you find it is too large, drop one of the increasing rows from the hat base, adjusting your numbers accordingly.

I also wrote this for me, so there may be errors in the pattern, as well as it being unclear in spots. It helps to have a bit of crochet familiarity. If you do come up with an issue, please send me a note and I will clarify if possible.

Hat base, worked in rounds.

1. With white yarn, ch 2, sc 6 into 2nd st from hook, join (6st)
2. ch 3, dc in next st, 2dc in each sc; join (12 st)
3. rep row 2, join (24 st)
4. ch 3, dc same st, dc in next st, *2dc in next st, dc in next st* to end, join. (36 st)
5. ch 3, dc same st, dc in next 2 st, *2 dc in next st, dc in next 2 st* to end, join (48 st)
6. ch 3, dc same st, dc in next 3 st, *2 dc in next st, dc in next 3 st* to end, join (60 st)

7. Join red yarn, ch 1. Sc round, join. (60 st)

8. Join brown yarn, ch 3, dc in same st, dc in next 4 st, *2dc in next st, dc in next 4 st* to end, join (72 st)
9-15. Ch 3, dc in each st across, join. (72 st)

Ear flaps:
16.Β  ch 3, dc in next 7 st. Turn. (8 sts)
17. ch 3, 2dc together, dc in next 2, 2dc together, dc in next st.Β  Turn. (6 sts)
18. ch 2, 2dc together in next 4 st (2 sts), dc in last st (4 st). Turn.
19. ch 3, sl in last st in row. End yarn.

From edge of first ear flap, count 28 st. Join yarn on next st. Repeat instructions for first ear flap, without ending yarn.

Sc around outer edge of hat, sl to join. End yarn, weave in ends.

Ears, worked in rows, in brown yarn. Make 2.

1. Ch 4.
2. 2 sc in 2nd ch from hook, 2 sc in next two sc, turn. (6st)
3. ch 1, sc in same st, 2 sc across. (12 st)
4. repeat row 3 (24sts), end yarn leaving a long tail for sewing.

Mouth

1. With red yarn, ch 15.
2. Sc 2nd chain from hook and across; 2sc in last st; loop over edge and across bottom of chain; 2sc in last st. Sl st to join, 30st.
3. Sc round, increasing two sc at edges. Sl st to join. 34st.
Join white yarn. Crochet 4 more rows, increasing as needed on edges to keep work flat. End yarn, leaving long tail for sewing.

Eyes, worked in rounds, in black yarn. Make 2.

1. Ch 2. Sc 5 into 1st st. Sl st to join.
2. 2 Sc in each st round, sl to join. End yarn, leaving tail for sewing.

Sew face pieces to appropriate place on base. Create a red pompom for top, attach accordingly.
Cut 4 24″ lengths each of red, white, and brown yarn. Gathering two lengths each, fold in half. Insert loop end into bottom of ear flap at ch 3 space. Thread ends through loop, pulling tight. Separate colours into three portions, braid ends, knotting neatly. Trim edges appropriately.

23 thoughts on “Some happy hooking

  1. Jackie

    oh my word I think this is the cutest hat I have ever seen!!!!! I found your blog through Ravelry…thanks so much for sharing the pattern πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Sock Monkey Hat « KnitProCro

  3. Mommasbize

    Just wanted to let you know, I have been looking for this pattern for three weeks, off and on. Now you saved me and I can make the monkey. Thank you so much.

    Reply
  4. Lauren

    I LOVE this pattern! Someone literally bought this hat right off of my daughters head! πŸ™‚

    I do have a question about the directions for making the mouth, step two says to “loop over edge and across bottom of chain.” Could you tell me how to do that? I couldn’t figure it out and kinda flubbed it, his mouth turned out a little wobbly. πŸ™‚ Thanks!

    Reply
  5. Rochelle Day

    I just mad two one for my nephew and one for our grandbaby by that is due any day now.

    Thanks for your pattern. It was very simple and well written.

    Reply
  6. Kristine

    Hi,
    I am making your sock monkey hat, but am having a hard time figuring our the ear flaps. I am not understanding your pattern there…sort of lost . Could you clarify it for me? It goes from 8 stictches down to 6, but it’s unclear as to where the decrease is made specifically. I have intermediate exp. with crocheting.

    Thanks so much!

    Reply
  7. Jan

    Thanks so much for your pattern, my grandaughter has wanted a sock monkey hat. I crocheted her 2 sock monkeys for Christmas. This will be perfect as it matches the sock monkeys I did.
    Could you tell me what age this hat pattern seems to fit?
    Thanks again,

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Have I mentioned my love of Sock Monkeys? « Bowl Of Oranges

  9. Rochelle Day

    I love your sock monkey hat. Totally back logged on requests for this hat. I would like to start selling them. Would love for you to contact me by e-mail.

    Thank you so much.

    Reply
    1. Christine Post author

      Hello;

      Thank you for stopping by and asking my permission. You may use this pattern as you see fit, of course charging for your time and materials. I would ask, however, that you not sell the pattern itself, as it is freely given.

      ~Christine

      Reply
  10. Sara

    This is a great pattern, I made it this evening and I love it so much, I am featuring the hat and your blog in my blog tomorrow!

    Thanks!

    Reply
  11. Penny Walker

    I would love to try that pattern too,, can ya e-mail it to me,, is free aint it,, Thanks Penny

    Reply
    1. Christine Post author

      To work two double crochets together, you would work as such:

      Yarn over, insert hook into stitch. Yarn over, pull through, 3 loops on hook. Yarn over, pull through 2 loops, 2 loops on hook. Yarn over, insert hook into next stitch. Yarn over, pull through, 4 loops on hook. Yarn over, pull through 2 loops, 3 loops on hook. At this point you have two unfinished dc on your hook. You then yarn over, pull through all three loops to 2dc together.

      Reply
  12. Susan

    Thank you for the use of your pattern. Will be making it for my son that fell in love with the sock monkey hat! Course I find it adorable too! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  13. AdamAntLover

    I am having a problem with the ears. In the picture it looks like they came out like a half circle. Mine are becoming “circles”. What am I doing wrong. I don’t crochet real tight but tried doing one really loose and it didn’t even look like an ear. lol.. Help?!?!?!

    Reply
    1. Christine Post author

      I don’t think I made it clear on the pattern, but be sure to turn at the end of each row in the ears. It will come out looking very crescent-shaped, and flattens out once you sew it onto the hat itself.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

