New things and pretties

Hello, all! When we last talked, the move was in full swing. I am happy to say we are in our new home, and things are lovely. So much more room, so much more space! Boxes still hide in corners, but slowly things are coming together.

Just before our move I mailed a package to family and they have received it. Which means, I can share some of my recent projects!

This is a lap-gan I made for my mom for (insert embarrassed grin here) Christmas. Once I actually figured out the pattern (and it was ripped out far too many times), it went very quickly and easily. Pulling it out was very frustrating which is why it sat unworked for months. This was finished February 7th.

My sister recently had a beautiful baby and I made several little goodies for her:

This is a baby blanket designed for a baby carrier/car seat. It actually has a hole in the center for the seat belt to go in between the babies legs. The hat (modeled here by Doople, thank you Doople) was just too cute and I had to do it.

In addition to the hat & blanket, I made a stuffed toy. Now my brother-in-law is a bit of a fan of Star Wars (ok, a huge fan) and so I found a fun thing to make for the babe along those lines.

This was just too cool and way too fun to make. It was glaring, though, in working on this project, that my embroidery skills need some SERIOUS help. The pattern came from Geek Crafts and is fairly easy to do. Fortunately my brother-in-law recognized it and named it Wicket, which just happens to be who it supposed to be! Yay!

So that’s my recent completions. On to other news.

So much has been happening over the last month, certain things went unnoticed as missing for a while. Yesterday, I looked at the calendar and discovered one of those things was still missing. And so, sometime in late December, we will be having another addition to the family – I am pregnant, again!

It has been 8 years since my last pregnancy, so we are a bit nervous. We have to start all over, with everything, as this was not planned; yet certainly a welcome surprise! I am feeling fine, in fact it was just a few little things that tipped me off. I hope this continues for the next 8 or so months!

8 thoughts on “New things and pretties

  1. Rebecca

    Lovely things you are knitting and showing but I jumped up in excitement about your last little bit of news! A BABY! I’m so excited for you, I hope your pregnancy goes smoothly…I wonder what I have in my stash that needs stitching – baby friendly of course, you will have to send me your new mailing address….

    Reply
  2. the other Christine

    Congratulations Christine! I’m so excited for you.
    Glad to hear that you’re nearly caught up with the move. Oromocto is a great spot. We don’t go often, because we’re usually in Freddy instead, but I’ve always liked it when I’ve gone there.

    Here’s a hint, there’s a great movie theatre on base… They only show a few movies at a time (2 I think) But they’re VERY VERY cheap. A lot of my friends go there for the kids movies, because it’s only something like $2 or $2.50 per person for the movie tickets. They make their money off the concessions instead.

    Reply
  3. Joanne

    Huge congratulations Christine, I hope that all goes well for your pregnancy. I love the blanket and hat that you
    made for your sisters baby.

    Reply
  4. Beatrice

    well well well that is so exciting for you….you know now why the knitting and crocheting was happening you were nesting.
    I love the all things you have made.
    Congratulations to you both and the girls. I hope the pregnancy goes well for you.

    Reply
  5. Kathy A

    Ahh, now I understand the eulogy to coffee from today. Congratulations Christine. Wishing you a wonderful pregnancy and a healthy little one.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Updates « Coffee Cup Thoughts

Leave a Reply

