Happy 2011!

Some how the new year has snuck up on us, and the holidays are over. Now we recuperate from too much stuffing and turkey, cookies and pies, and look to the year ahead. We had a wonderful Christmas, loads of family and food. I hope yours was wonderful!

On to 2011. I have never been big on making resolutions, as I am very good at not sticking to them. Instead, I will be listing some crafting goals for this year. And lo! They are lofty! 😀

There are several projects I wish to complete this year. Some are a larger priority than others, being done for others (and therefore higher up on the project list). In addition, I have decided to make a lot more Christmas gifts for 2011. Which means I need to get started on them, and keep up with it monthly. Because they are Christmas gifts, I won’t be posting anything but my progress, but I do hope that in doing so I can keep up my motivation to get these projects done. That being said, I do have a list of projects to complete that I can share with you.

Stitching:
– I would like to finish The Guardian. Ideally in January, but I don’t know as that will happen since I have a big knitting project I would like to finish as soon as possible.

I don’t have any other stitching projects I will be focussing on. This year I would like to do a lot more knitting and crochet.

Crochet:
– I have enjoyed the Bernat Mystery Crochet Along so much that I joined another Crochet Along on Ravelry. One block a month should be doable and I think it will provide a nice break for me while I work on my tougher projects
– Realistically, I realize that I will likely lean towards more crochet Christmas gifts than any other craft, as it is what I am feeling most comfortable with. I would like to complete one of these projects a month.
– I need new slippers. ‘Nuff said.
– Lauryn has requested a hat with ear flaps. No problemo!
– I would love to do some more amigurumi. We will see how that goes.

Knitting:
– I have been asked to knit a wrap for a friend. You can see the project here. I don’t know how long this will take me, as I am not entirely comfortable with this project, but it is a priority and likely my next new start.
– I want to learn to knit socks. Which means I need to grasp knitting in the round. I would love to finish a few pairs before Christmas. <wink wink>

And so those are my goals. On to some updates.

I have finished my white version of the mystery afghan, just in time to gift for Christmas:

It came out beautifully. I am almost finished the last squares for my coloured afghan, and will move on to piecing hopefully later this week.

5 thoughts on “Happy 2011!

  1. Angela

    I have the guardian sitting in my stash … maybe seeing your progress on it will motivate me to … start mine, LOL! Your’s looks beautiful.

    Socks are easy once you get the hang of them, but beware … they are also addictive!

    Reply
  2. Anne S

    Congrats on a great finish – that mystery blanket looks awesome finished up 😀 You have some great projects ahead in your plans this year too – look forward to following your progress 🙂

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Checking up on goals | Coffee Cup Thoughts

Leave a Reply

