Sew sew

Sew… I mean so… I had an urge this week to pull out my sewing machine and get some stuff done. I had a WIP sitting in my closet for a couple of years (I shall explain) and felt it was time to just finish it.

I was in need a few years ago of some linen pants. You see I’m a little bit of an odd duck when it comes to choosing my clothes – I go based on my shoes. I have these fantastic tan … shooties… I guess they are called and nothing to wear them with. I’m a bit of a conservative when it comes to my style, and I follow the “no shoes lighter than the hemline” rule.

So a few years ago Scott was graduating from Basic Training in the Canadian Forces and I needed something nice to wear, so I started these pants. Unfortunately the issue I usually have with projects happened.

Aren't they beautiful? *sigh*

I didn’t have all the materials needed – I didn’t buy a zipper when I picked up the rest of the notions I needed. And so I succumbed to the same thing I always fall prey to – the “I’ll pick it up next time I’m in town” syndrome.

Suffice to say, I wore something else to the event (and not these shoes).

Isn't this a great shot? I look like a leggy fashion model!

So I finally remembered earlier this week to pick up a zipper and yesterday I finished off the pants. I was a little concerned that there might be some fit issues as I have had a baby between the time this pattern was first cut and now, so I wasn’t sure what changes had to be made. As it turns out, I had some sort of forethought and cut the pattern a size larger. I did have to add a couple of darts to the front (there already were some in the back), and I had extended the length of the legs (since I do have pretty long legs, and I wanted these pants to be the right length for the shoes), so now it fits quite nicely.

The pattern used is New Look #6114. Now all I need is a nice knitted cowl sweater, don’t you think?

2 thoughts on “Sew sew

Leave a Reply

