Powerless Motivation

As you may know, Hurricane Irene recently swathed a path through America, making landfall far more inland than hurricanes normally do. We do often get hit by hurricanes (or more accurately tropical or post-tropical storms by the time it hits us), but they are usually to our east and not very severe as we are a bit inland. Irene, however, was to our west, and so we got hit a bit harder than we normally do.

Fortunately we didn’t get hit as hard as a large amount of people did. Irene hit us on Sunday night, and we ended up losing power in the wee hours of the morning. We were among the 40,000 in New Brunswick without power, so it was time to get creative for the day with our meals and activities. Yay for barbecue!

Therefore I did spend a large portion of the day knitting (since I couldn’t do laundry, heh heh) and got A LOT done.

I so love cables. And I love the macro setting on my camera!

Unfortunately I can’t share my project with you as it is a Christmas gift. I can tell you it is my own pattern since I wasn’t able to find one I liked that worked for me. I took a couple of elements from other patterns I liked and adjusted things here and there and it’s coming out beautifully. If you are on Ravelry, you can find me by following this link. I will be posting better photos and the pattern there until this gift is received. Unfortunately for the rest of you, you will have to wait until after Christmas for the pattern, sorry!

 

Leave a Reply

