December Recipes – Gingerbread

I’m happy to say I did meet my goal of blogging every day in November, and I admit I did enjoy it. Although I know some of my posts were a tad lack luster, challenge was still met. While I don’t anticipate keeping up this trend, I do want to continue to blog as much as possible. So in that vein, I’ve decided that in between my crafty updates for this month I’ll post my favourite holiday recipes.

The first is a gingerbread recipe I got from Lauryn’s grade 2 teacher. It makes a wonderfully soft gingerbread cookie, and it keeps shape well. I wouldn’t recommend this if you are planning on making a house since the cookie is quite soft, but it is perfect for little men and women.

I’m afraid I don’t have a photo for you yet, as I plan to make these today (if Sean will let me, that is). Hopefully I’ll have a photo for you tomorrow.

(Edited: Added!)

My recipe is in imperial measurements. I’ll include approximate metric measurements but you may have to adjust as you go along. For weights, I apologize. I have no idea where to start with those.

—xxx—

Gingerbread Cookies

3 cups (750mL) flour
2 teaspoons (10mL) ginger
1 teaspoon (5mL) baking soda
1/2 cup (125 mL) milk
2 teaspoons (10mL) lemon juice
1/2 cup (125mL) butter, softened
1/2 cup (125mL) sugar
1/2 cup (125mL) molasses

Mix flour, ginger, baking soda and salt into a medium size bowl. Combine milk and lemon juice in a cup and let stand several minutes. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until fluffy and light. Beat in molasses. Slowly beat in flour mixture, 1/3 at a time, alternately with milk mixture until blended. Wrap dough tightly, and chill at least 4 hours or over night until firm enough to roll.

On a lightly floured surface, roll out dough (1/2 at a time) 1/4″ (0.5cm) thick. Cut out shapes with floured cookie cutter. Place on a lightly greased cookie sheet or on parchment paper.

Bake at 350F/175C for 13 minutes.

Leave a Reply

