Recipe Call!

Yesterday I spent some time going through my recipes so that I had a good list to share with you. I learned two things. One, apparently rice is perfectly acceptable in a traditional Scottish recipe (I’m being sarcastic here. I’m not sure how fast the boats from China had to be in order to supply the Scots with rice flour for all their traditional baking. Maybe they had a time machine portal).

And two, my recipe collection is dismal. I am positive – POSITIVE – I had a fantastic sugar cookie recipe, so much so that I actually had the ingredients ready to go yesterday before I considered grabbing the recipe to confirm measurements and such. Some recipe collecting gnome has wandered off with it, I’m afraid.

So I’m turning to my readers. Can you share with me your favourite winter time recipes? I’m not necessarily looking for holiday stuff, since we do have to eat stews and things in between all the cookies. But holiday recipes are definitely accepted.

I can’t promise to post every recommendation I get, but I will be trying it out before I post it and let you all know my thoughts and such.

3 thoughts on “Recipe Call!

  1. Jenn L in Chicago

    A recipe I submitted to a friend’s site: Shredded Barbecue Beef. Lately I’ve been multitasking this recipe by cooking the meat for about 4 hours in the crock pot, serving a portion of it as pot roast (my kids don’t care for pot roast veggies, so I serve with mashed potatoes and green beans instead), then returning the rest of the meat to the crock to get super tender for shredding.

    Reply
  2. Melanie Boxall

    I suppose it depends how old you want something to be to call it traditional. Rice was widely grown in France at least 500 years ago, and considering the strong bond between France and Scotland in Stewart times, I should imagine it was easily available to them? A food historian could probably tell you how far back the use of rice flour in Britain goes, but it can certainly be found in 18th century recipes. In my humble opinion, shortbread without rice flour isn’t shortbread.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

