December recipes – Apple Spice Cake

I decided I needed to bake a coffee cake of sorts yesterday and tried this one out for the first time. It is perfect for an afternoon snack, quite tasty and easy to make. I declared while the family was happily munching away, “this is going on my blog tomorrow.” My daughter replied “Put it on your blog today – there won’t be any left tomorrow!”

—xxx—

Apple Spice Cake

1 3/4 cups flour
2 1/2 tsps baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 cup shortening
1 1/4 cups lightly packed brown sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup sweetened applesauce
2/3 cups milk

Preheat oven to 350F/175C. Grease an 8″ or 9″ square cake pan. Line bottom with wax paper or dust lightly with flour.

Sift together flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

Cream shortening, beat in brown sugar.

Blend in eggs, beating until light and fluffy.

Add sifted dry ingredients to creamed mixture alternately with a mixture of applesauce and milk.

Make 3 dry and 2 liquid additions, combining lightly after each. Turn into prepared pan. Bake for 45 to 50 minutes, or until cake springs back when lightly touched. Cool 5 minutes then remove from pan.

 

One thought on “December recipes – Apple Spice Cake

  1. Melanie Boxall

    That’s my kind of cake. My mother-in-law does a similar thing, although she uses whole apples. Wonderful stuff.

    Here, have a joke at my expense. When we first came to Canada I kept seeing “Coffee Cake” in the shops, and despite the fact that I don’t like coffee, I do like coffee used as a flavour in things such as ice cream and cakes. And I kept buying them, and they never tasted of coffee. I clued in eventually.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

