Socks!

I have finished a pair of socks!

And I had a great time doing it. As you can tell they worked up super fast (worsted yarn and big needles helps), and it was far easier than I thought making a sock would be.

I ran out of yarn for the main colour close to the end of the second sock (I estimate I needed maybe another meter) so I picked up the toe colour sooner than patterned.

Since I was going for learning the technique, I don’t have a problem with it.

The only problem I had at all with the pattern was it only had one sizing option which was “fits an average adult”. Since average adults are both male and female and that’s a pretty wide range of foot, I was afraid of what it might turn out to be.

Fortunately my 10W foot is just a smidge too small for these socks. If I make them again (and let’s face it, I probably will), I’ll just drop a needle size and that should do it.

The pattern comes from Cool Weather Accessories book by Patons, number 717. It features a yarn that isn’t available any more, and since I’m unable to find a link for the pattern book, it’s likely out of print.

These socks also mark the first time I’ve been able to do the kitchener stitch without having to run to Youtube for a how to!

One thought on “Socks!

Leave a Reply

