Completed Holiday Projects – Beanie, Gloves and Cowl

Next on my list was my oldest brother, and I thought I would try something new with him. I opted to make a hat and glove set. Not really exciting but the hat was done in double knit, which I LOVED.

 

The technique itself is fairly simple, once you get the hang of it. Essentially you cast on twice as many stitches as required and every alternate stitch is worked opposite of the prior stitch (both in type of stitch and colour). The result is a reversible project.

 

The pattern used is from Son of Stitch ‘n Bitch: 45 Projects to Knit and Crochet for Men. I will definitely be doing this technique again; I had a wonderful time doing it.

I didn’t think that the hat would be enough so I also knit some fingerless gloves for my brother (which is a good thing since it appears my sister-in-law stole the hat!). This was a little challenge since I essentially had to adjust a mitten pattern myself to make it work. My husband did a lot of modelling for me as I went along.

 

 

I used this pattern, then made the changes listed at the end of this post. Your mileage may vary, it might be a good idea to try these on as you go.

 

 

 

For my sister-in-law, I made a cowl since she rocks the look. This was my first real forray into lace knitting and it worked out quite nicely.

I used this pattern and it worked out exactly as planned. Which rarely happens if you know me at all. ;p

 

—xxx—

Mittens to fingerless gloves conversion:

Followed pattern until finished row 65.

Knit 6 stitches, place next 34 stitches on marker, cast on 1 stitch over gap, knit 5 stitches (12 stitches). Work stockinette for 3 rows, then ribbed for three rows, cast off. Pinky finger made.

At pinky edge, pick up 2 stitches, knit 6, cast on 1, knit 5 from back edge (14 stitches). Work stockinette for 3 rows, then ribbed for 3 rows, cast off. Ring finger made.

At ring finger edge, pick up 3 stitches, knit 6, cast on 1, knit 6 from back edge (16 stitches). Work stockinette for 3 rows, then ribbed for 3 rows, cast off. Middle finger made.

At middle finger edge, pick up 3, knit remaining stitches on marker (14 stitches). Work stockinette for 3 rows, then ribbed for 3 rows, cast off. Index finger made.

Follow instructions for thumb, picking up 3 stitches over the gap for a total of 20 stitches. Work stockinette for 3 rows, then ribbed for three rows, cast off.

Weave in ends closing gaps where necessary.

One thought on “Completed Holiday Projects – Beanie, Gloves and Cowl

  1. Pingback: Gadzooks! I have a blog! | Coffee Cup Thoughts

Leave a Reply

