Some updates

Well it’s been a little while since I’ve given you a blog of substance so I thought I would show you what’s on my needles right now.

The main body portion before pulling back.

In knitting, I’m working on the Eyelet Neck Scarf (link to the Ravelry download page; I’m sorry I’m unable to find the direct site) by the backward knitter. This pattern is written up in parts, and you can adapt the scarf by adjusting each part to your liking. I decided as this does involve a bit of lace work that I would just follow the recipe as is, however I came across a hiccup fairly quickly. The main body portion has a two row repeat.

My mis-turned stitches

The instructions for the main body state the first portion should be worked 22 times (for a total of 44 rows), however the scarf directions state 22 rows. I worked the 22 times and didn’t like it – it seemed like a fairly large block before I got to the eyelet pattern. In addition, I had to pull back a little bit somewhere in the middle of the block and my stitches got mis-turned. It resulted in a fairly obvious (to me at least) yucky spot on my work. So I’ve pulled it out and started again.

Where I'm at now.

 

I’ve worked the eyelet pattern twice now and I’m thinking my numbers might be off somewhere. Both times the instructions leave me short on my row, so I have to adapt the pattern. It’s something I’ll have to watch for in upcoming rows.

 

 

I’m also working on my second pair of socks. This is my computer knitting. While waiting for groups to form when playing World of Warcraft I pull out my sock and knit away. I’m making some pretty good progress (yay for quick worsted weight projects) and should be done within the next week or so.

 

 

And on to stitching. The Guardian isn’t getting as much love as I would like it to, simply because I have a difficult time sitting at the table to stitch. With knitting I can easily put it down and pick it back up, not so much with stitching for some reason. I realize it was a very lofty goal, but realistically this isn’t getting done by the end of the month. That being said, some nice progress has been made.

And that’s where I’m at right now. Happy Thursday!

—xxx—

What am I working on?

Current knitting love: Socks!
Current stitching love: The Guardian

One thought on “Some updates

Leave a Reply

