In search of the perfect oatmeal cookie

I am pretty picky when it comes to cookies. I love them, they are the perfect little munchy snack at any time of the day. (Yes, even breakfast. ;p) I love a chewy, substantial cookie. One of my favourites is oatmeal raisin. Unfortunately, I haven’t had much luck with recipes; most of mine come out dry and crunchy.

Thanks to Pintrest, which I recently discovered, I’m find a lot of fantastic recipies. I thought I would try out the Thick, Chewy Oatmeal Raisin recipe offered by Smitten Kitchen (link to the recipe on her blog).

These did in fact turn out to be a lovely cookie. Very chewy, and stayed that way until the last one was eaten (which doesn’t often happen with my baking. The longer a cookie stays in the jar the harder it gets. Which is why we eat them all right away, of course).

The only problem I had with this recipe was that it was a bit on the boring side. In the future, I will try it with more cinnamon (it only calls for 1/2 teaspoon) and see if that changes things.

Give it a try and see what you think!

One thought on “In search of the perfect oatmeal cookie

Leave a Reply

