2013 – The year of the purge

This morning I sat and snuck in a bit of crochet before breakfast. As happens when I (and I’m sure many, many others) crochet or knit, my mind wanders. I had commented to myself that I really need to start using better yarn. Of course, I had the immediate rebuttal of I really need to start making more money. Yeah, there is that.

My first attempt at tunisian entrelac. Pretty, non?

My first attempt at tunisian entrelac. Pretty, non?

Which of course led to admonishment that I really don’t *need* new yarn, I have the Big Bucket O’Stash hiding in my closet. I really must use that up.

Which led to my thinking about purging. It’s one of those really big things that I know I need to do, but don’t. You see, I’m fantastic at procrastination, I’ve perfected my methods over 36 years. Which means a) those things I mean to purge continue to sit in a box in the basement and b) when I do consider getting rid of it, I always say, I’ll get to it later.

Enough is enough. I’m not big on resolutions for the new year, but I do recognize it as a good time for new beginnings. I am a work in progress myself, and it’s time things start changing, even just a little.

The Big Bucket O'Stash. All those ends that can't be used for anything else.

The Big Bucket O’Stash. All those ends that can’t be used for anything else.

And so I purge. Since my thoughts started with my yarn, that’s where I’m starting with my purge. I’ve decided on a big project for the year, made up of little projects.

One of my favourite blankets is one my grandmother made over 12 years ago. It’s made of all different colours of yarn, made in 8″ granny squares and sewn together in an almost pattern. I just love it. I’m going to be doing the same thing, with my stash.

My grandmother's blanket.

My grandmother’s blanket.

Now my grandmother, I’m sure, had an actual plan with the colours she used, but I’m sure I can get a similar effect.

Granny squares are something dead easy, I can do any time, any where. I figure I can select three or four balls from the bucket at a time and go mad, collect them at the end of the year (or when I run out of yarn) and sew them all together.

Other purging plans are also in place. I have our name in with the Diabetes association, for their “clothesline” program. They accept donations of gently used clothing and household items, and here’s the best part – they come to your door to pick it up! Win win win! They call me about every month and by then I have clothes that no longer fit or can be passed down packed up and ready to go. I’m going to expand that this year by going into… duh duh duhhhhhh… the basement. There are boxes hidden in our basement that haven’t been even opened in, I’m guessing, 5 moves? Since we are a military family and another move is on the horizon, a 6th move bringing random boxes we don’t need really isn’t appealing. I’ll be working on getting rid of some of that stuff too.

There is of course stuff to purge all over the house. I would like to clear most of it out, and I really hope I can stick to this goal. Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “2013 – The year of the purge

  1. Melanie Boxall

    If you want my humble opinion, I think that’s how granny squares came about, using up odds and ends. Waste not want not and all that. I like those blankets best when there is a bit of planning, I made one with all the squares edged in black. It pulled the whole thing together.

    Reply
  2. Laura (@Laura_in_VA)

    Agree with Melanie on the granny squares.
    I too plan on purging via completing projects. I usually take bags to Goodwill or something, but I’m switching to the local transitional housing for women. I feel it would me more usefil.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

