Review – Quick Sour Cream Cheese Bread

Image stolen from The Family Kitchen

Yesterday I found a recipe on Pinterest that I wanted to try, because it sounded delightful. Quick Sour Cream Cheese Bread from The Family Kitchen is super easy, and yes, very quick.

I served it with dinner last night, and sadly, I forgot to take a photo before serving. Not that it matters much, it came out looking EXACTLY like the photo on the source website.

As I do with all new recipes  I make it as directed the first time. That gives me a chance to try it and make any alterations in the future.

The recipe says that you can use yogurt or sour cream, and I imagine that if one went with greek yogurt this would be a healthier option. The sour cream option was perfect for me to use up that not-expired-but-still-soup-consistency sour cream in the fridge; you know, that stuff that is no longer good for slopping all over your potatoes.

As for the taste test, well, meh. It feels like it’s trying to be a giant butter biscuit and failing. We had guests (what a better time to try a new recipe, huh?), and the consensus was that it tasted to buttery. Which is interesting since there is very very little butter in it. But I get what they were saying.

Suggestions at the end of the recipe include adding diced ham or bacon to it; I wholeheartedly agree with this one. This bread was practically screaming for ham.

If I make this in the future, and I likely will; I’m not willing to give up on it yet, I’ll make it as muffins with ham or bacon as a breakfast treat. I may also add a bit of mustard and more cayenne to add a little zip.

As is, I rate this a 3/5. But it has possibilities.

2 thoughts on “Review – Quick Sour Cream Cheese Bread

  1. Melanie Boxall

    Just looking at the recipe, yes, that is a essentially North American biscuit recipe. I know there is this term “quick breads” but I don’t approve of it myself. To me bread is either risen with yeast, or it’s sourdough. Anything else is not bread. Just my view. These things are a matter of opinion.

    All that said, I see nothing wrong with the recipe, BUT, I think it would be better made AS biscuits. The ancestor or distant cousin of this would be the classic English cheese scone, which is NOT something you serve as a bread substitute. There’s also an art to making a cheese scone, because if you don’t add enough cheese, it tastes flat, and if you add too much it IS flat (it won’t rise well). This looks as it it could suffer the same challenge. Mustard would help bring out the cheese flavour.

    Reply
    1. Christine Post author

      That’s what I was thinking with the mustard as well. I forgot to mention that in my post. The cheese taste was lacking, despite my using very old cheddar. I like my cheese bread to taste that way.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

