FO: Swirling Vortex

And on to round six! This was the toughest round of Sock Madness thus far, not because of the difficulty of the sock (which I don’t think is difficult at all), but due to the time constraints.

2013-06-11 10.20.58At this time, we were down to seven players per team, and for this round one player per team progressed to the final round. This would have to be our fastest knitting thus far.

While I did score a personal best, I was not fast enough to get that last spot. It took me about 12.5 hours to knit one sock, and by the next morning a winner for our team had been posted. Since this kicked me out of the competition, I took my time with the second sock (still finished a full pair in just over 4 days).

As I’ve mentioned, Swirling Vortex is a pretty easy pattern. It’s toe up, using a crochet provisional cast on (a new technique for me). One knits the foot then heel, and then the leg, keeping the gusset portion open. The magic of the swirl happens at the end, and the sock is finished off at the center point.

2013-06-11 10.21.45The pattern recommends a self-striping yarn, and I wholeheartedly agree. I used Nooch Fiber’s Midtown Sock in The State I’m In, and although it’s a pretty yarn, it’s not quite right for this sock. You should see some of the photos with self-striping yarns. FANTASTIC. I am not a fan of self-striping yarns, but I may have to pick some up anyway to do this pair again.

Just as a quick aside, I want to share the last pattern the winners of the round were assigned. Labyrinthine is a massive undertaking, using a five colour cast on which the eventual winner took 8 hours just to do on one sock. Incredible results, though, and you should look through the growing library of photos for this sock – it made me heave a sigh of relief that I wasn’t’ in the final round! Have no fear, though, I will be knitting it. My kit is ready!

Leave a Reply

